April 20

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director, at 206-676-6858 or shanrahan@seattleacademy.org. CAMPUS MAP

Friday Email
April 20, 2018

2017-2018 Spring Mania Banner-01

REMINDERS!

SIGN UPS

ANNOUNCEMENTS

SAAS in the City
Coat Mix-Up: Eddie Bauer black trench coat (size S with gloves in the pocket) mixed up for an identical coat (size M – no gloves). Did you go home with the wrong coat? It’s been found!
Contact Anne-Marie at amguerrero@seattleacademy.org

Middle School Zambia Club Book Drive
April 23 – May 4, 2018

For the remainder of April and the first week of May, the Eighth Grade Zambia Club is leading a book drive for Birdland, our sister school in Zambia. We would like students to bring new or gently used children’s books and put them in the donation bins by the front office.  Students at the school range in age from 4-14, though the biggest need is for books aimed at the youngest readers at the school.  We appreciate all of your support as do the children of the Birdland School!
Questions? Contact Lewis Maday-Travis at ltravis@seattleacademy.org.

Spring Performance Tickets
April 23: Presale to students and parents in the shows
April 30: Regular ticket sales begin at 8 AM.

Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

Summer Program Brochure
Sign Up Deadline is April 30.

CLICK HERE to review the Summer Program 2018 Brochure. Registration information is located on the last page. This year, registration is online and due by April 30, 2018.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattlecademy.org or Jodi Rea at jrea@seattleacademy.org.

Reporting Absences, Late Arrivals, and Early Dismissals
Middle School: msattendance@seattleacademy.org
Upper School: usattendance@seattleacademy.org

UPCOMING EVENTS

Spring Sports Mania
April 20, 2018
3 – 10 PM
Starfire Sports Complex
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Track Invite
April 21, 2018
10 AM – 2 PM
West Seattle Stadium
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

“Angst: Raising Awareness Around Anxiety”
April 23, 2018    CLICK HERE TO RSVP
6:30 PM, Arts Center
MORE DETAILS
A light buffet will be provided for hungry folks coming straight from work/practice.
There will be two follow up coffees on April 30 and May 3. More details to come.

Questions? Contact Arden Hellmann at ardenhellmann@comcast.net.

Orientation to Middle School for Fall 2018 – New Families
April 24, 2018
6 PM, Gym
VOLUNTEERS NEEDED!
We will be holding an orientation for families who will be new to the Middle School in Fall 2018. We would like to have a few current parents on hand to help welcome the new families, hand out t-shirts, and
help direct them to various activities. Volunteers would need to be available from 5:30 – 7:30 PM.
Questions? Like to volunteer? Contact Bob Steedman at bobsteedman@cbbain.com.

11th Grade College Case Studies
April 24, 2018
6 – 9 PM
The Bush School (3400 E Harrison, 98112)
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

11th Grade College Case Studies
April 25, 2018
6 – 9 PM
University Prep  (8000 25th Ave. NE, 98115)
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

Orientation to Upper School for 8th Grade Families
April 26, 2018
6:30 PM, Gym
We invite those 8th grade families, students and parents, who are attending Upper School at SAAS to join us for an orientation to the Upper School. The orientation will include information regarding registration, the new block schedule, the differences between Middle School and Upper School regarding an open campus, etc.
New incoming families from the Class of 2022 will also be present so students and parents can meet each other.
Questions? Contact Lauri Conner at lconner@seattleacademy.org.

Spring Trimester Mid Term
April 27, 2018

8:15 AM – 3 PM
Classes will be held as normal on this day. An older version of the calendar listed this as a day off, but classes will be held as normal this day.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Faculty Professional Development Day
NO CLASSES
May 1, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

7th Grade SEE Trip
May 2-4, 2018
PERMISSION FORMDue April 27
PACKING LISTGear Check April 27
DIETARY FORM - Due April 20

Questions? Contact Jeff Budke at jbudke@seattleacademy.org or Madeline Williams at mwilliams@seattleacademy.org.

8th Grade ERB Testing
May 3, 2018
8:15 AM – Noon, Jaffe Room
More details will be sent home soon.
Questions? Contact Julia Kassissieh at jkassissieh@seattleacademy.org.

All-Grades Visual Arts Show
May 3, 2018
5 – 8 PM, Arts Center
Questions? Contact Lily Hotchkiss at lhotchkiss@seattleacademy.org.

9th Grade Pre-ACT Testing
May 4, 2018
8:15 AM – Noon, Jaffe Room
Questions? Contact Julia Kassissieh at jkassissieh@seattleacademy.org.

6th Grade Arts Evening
May 7, 2018
6:30 PM – Social
7:00 PM – Performances
More Details
Questions? Contact Fred Strong, Arts Department Chair, fstrong@seattleacademy.org.

Film Night
May 8, 2018
7 PM, Arts Center
NO TICKETS REQUIRED!
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Instrumental and 8th Grade Vocal Concert
May 9, 2018
7 PM, Jaffe Room, Temple de Hirsch Sinai
Parking available in the 16th Avenue parking lot.
NO TICKETS REQUIRED!
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

Senior College Night
May 10, 2018
7 PM, Arts Center
MORE DETAILS
For parents and students.
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

Junior/Senior Prom
May 12, 2018
8 – 10 PM, Metropolis at SODO
Tickets will go on sale April 29. The will be $30 the first week, $35 the second week.
Additional details will be emailed home next week.
Questions? Contact Makenzie Brandon at mbrandon@seattleacademy.org.

6th Grade Alaska Trip Meeting
May 15, 2018
6 PM, STREAM Building
Questions? Cotnact Hilary Bowen at hbowen@seattleacademy.org.

Spring Parent Association Meeting
May 16, 2018
6:30 Social, 7 PM Meeting
STREAM Building
Questions? Contact Sharon Perlin at sharonperlin@gmail.com.

6th Grade Social
May 17, 2018
3 – 5 PM, Gym
Students do not need to bring a change of clothes, but they are certainly welcome to change into dance attire if they so choose. There will be snacks for sale to benefit the Zambia Club. If your child would like to purchase something, please send them to school with some cash. In addition to a DJ and music, there will also be games and contests to keep kids engaged throughout the event. We will follow up with more details about this.
Questions? Contact Achijah Berry at aberry@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Production of Blue Stockings
May 17-19, 2018 PURCHASE TICKETS
7 PM, Arts Center
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Symposium
May 18, 2018
8:15 AM – Noon, Middle School Building
More details will be emailed home soon.
Questions? Contact Lewis Maday-Travis at ltravis@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School NOON DISMISSAL
May 18, 2018
The Middle School will have a noon dismissal following the Symposium. Afternoon shuttle buses will leave SAAS at 12:15 as well as 3:15 on this day.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

PARENT ASSOCIATION EVENTS

9th Grade Parent Coffee
April 23, 2018
8:15 – 9:30 AM
Stumptown Coffee Roasters (1115 12th Ave, 98122)
Please Note: On-campus parking is assigned from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.
We will be joined by special guests Mari Anderson, SAAS Chief Operating Officer
Questions? Contact Michelle Gordon at tomichelleg@gmail.com.

“Angst: Raising Awareness Around Anxiety”
April 23, 2018    CLICK HERE TO RSVP
6:30 PM, Arts Center
MORE DETAILS
A light buffet will be provided for hungry folks coming straight from work/practice.
There will be two follow up coffees on April 30 and May 3. More details to come.
Questions? Contact Arden Hellmann at ardenhellmann@comcast.net.

6th Grade Parent Coffee
April 26, 2018
8:15 – 9:30 AM
12th Avenue Conference Room
Please Note: On-campus parking is assigned from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.
We hope you can join us for our next 6th grade coffee. We will be joined by special guests Achijah Berry and Craig Tomlinson, 6th Grade Coordinators.
Questions? Contact Aaron Lieberman at aaronlieberman@gmail.com.

10th Grade Parent Coffee
April 27, 2018 – CANCELLED

Angst Presentation Follow Up Coffee for Middle School Parents
April 30, 2018
8:15 – 9:30 AM
12th Avenue Conference Room
Please Note: On-campus parking is assigned from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.
A follow up to the Angst screening and discussion.
Questions? Contact Arden Hellmann at ardenhellmann@comcast.net.

Angst Presentation Follow Up Coffee for Upper School Parents
May 3, 2018
8:15 – 9:30 AM
12th Avenue Conference Room
Please Note: On-campus parking is assigned from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.
A follow up to the Angst screening and discussion.
Questions? Contact Arden Hellmann at ardenhellmann@comcast.net.

9TH GRADE POTLUCK

  • April 24, 7 PM, Hosted by Jack Kearney and Anne Schopf, 2002 Eastlake Ave. E Seattle, WA 98102
  • May 12, 7:30 PM, Hosted by Ari Gilmore and Sarah Strachan and Joel Shapiro and Ingrid Elliott, 120 Westlake Ave. N, #1107 Seattle, WA 98103
  • May 20, 5 PM, Hosted by Russ and Gemma Daggatt, 933 N Northlake Way Slip #9 Seattle, WA 98103
  • RSVP HERE: http://www.signupgenius.com/go/30e0e44a4a629abfa7-2018

10TH GRADE POTLUCK

  • May 5, 6:30-9:30PM, Hosted by Tom Rubin and Nina Russell, The Highlands, Seattle, WA 98177
    Please join us for a Cinco de Mayo dinner party! Guests please bring an appetizer, side, or dessert. Hosts will provide the main dish and drinks.
    Parking available. Limit 10 guests.
  • May 6, 4 – 6 PM, Hosted by APuneet and Nikki Piplani, Mercer Island Shore Club (4150 E Mercer Way, Mercer Island, WA 98040)
    Please join us on the beach for drinks and heavy appetizers!
    (In case of rain, we will gather at our house: 3777 79th Ave SE, Mercer Island.)
    Limit 12 guests.
  • May 11, 7-9:30 PM, Hosted by Andrew and Jane Hamel and co-hosted by MJ Leventhal, 1251 21st Ave E, Seattle, WA 98112
    Please join us for a Post-Cinco de Mayo evening with heavy appetizers, margaritas and drinks!
    Street parking available. No guest limit.
  • RSVP HERE: SAAS Class of 2020 Spring 2018 Parent Potluck Get-Togethers

RECENT ARTICLES

Baral ‘18 Profiled by The Cardinal
Seattle Academy Robotics Team Competes at Worlds

SOCIAL MEDIA CHANNELS

Facebook:
Seattle Academy https://www.facebook.com/seattleacademy
Seattle Academy Cardinals (Athletics) https://www.facebook.com/SAASCardinals

Twitter:
@SeattleAcademy https://twitter.com/SeattleAcademy
@SAASCardinals (Athletics) https://twitter.com/SAASCardinals
@SAASGrad https://twitter.com/SAASGrad

YouTube: Seattle Academy Videos https://www.youtube.com/SeattleAcademyVideos
SmugMug: Saasphotogallery http://saasphotogallery.smugmug.com/

If you have any questions about our social media program, please contact Andrew Spitzer at aspitzer@seattleacademy.org.