April 28

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director, at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Friday Email
April 28, 2017

may 1 2017

ANNOUNCEMENTS

SAAS Summer Program Brochure
This year’s Summer Program Brochure has been posted to Inside SAAS. We are offering a variety of programs. Please register early as classes tend to fill up quickly. Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School After-School Sign Up
Please sign up for next week’s
After-School Study Hall, Monday Art Club, and Friday Maker Club using this link: CLICK HERE FOR THE SIGN UP PAGE. Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons, Middle School Dean of Students, at clyons@seattleacademy.org.

UPCOMING EVENTS

6th Grade Student Social
April 28, 2017
3 – 5:15 PM, Gym

Pick up at 5:15 PM in the 16th Avenue parking lot.

Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons at clyons@seattleacademy.org.

May Day – NO CLASSES
May 1, 2017

Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Theatre Auditions for 2017-2018
May 2, 2017 NEW DATE!
3:15 – 5 PM, Arts Center

Questions? Contact Michael Cimino at mcimino@seattleacademy.org.

7th Grade SEE Trip
May 3-5, 2018
Camp Orkila Waiver
Gear List and FAQ
Questions? Contact Hilary Bowen at hbowen@seattleacademy.org or Jeff Budke at jbudke@seattleacademy.org.

Senior Parent College Night (Seniors Optional)
May 3, 2017
7 PM, Arts Center

MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

8th Grade Standardized Testing
May 4, 2017
8:15 AM – Noon, Jaffe Room
Questions? Contact Megan Roberts at mroberts@seattleacademy.org.

8th Grade English Performance
May 4, 2017
7 PM, Arts Center
Tickets are free but must be reserved in advance.
If you would like to reserve tickets, or have a questions, contact Lauren Lee at llee@seattleacademy.org.

9th Grade Standardized Testing
May 5, 2017
8:15 AM – Noon, Jaffe Room
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

11th-12th Grade Prom
May 6, 2017
8-10 PM, Sanctuary at Admiral (2656 42nd Ave. SW, Seattle)
Tickets are on sale April 24 – 28 for $35. Tickets on sale May 1-5 for $40. No tickets will be sold at the door.

Questions? Contact Makenzie Brandon at mbrandon@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Dance Auditions for 2017-18
May 8, 2017
3:15 – 5 PM, Dance Studio

Questions? Contact Rhonda Cinotto at rcinotto@seattleacademy.org.

6th Grade Arts Evening
May 8, 2017
7 PM, Arts Center
No tickets required! The whole family is invited to learn more about the Arts Program and to enjoy performances and check out the visual arts.
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

All-Grades Film Night
May 9, 2017
7 PM, Arts Center
No tickets required! Come and view the films that SAAS students have created this year.
Questions? Contact Cheryll Hidalgo at chidalgo@seattleacademy.org.

GiveBIG, The Seattle Foundation’s 24-hour Online Community Giving Event
May 10, 2017
CLICK HERE
to learn more and pre-schedule your donation for SAAS.
Gifts to the Annual Fund will be matched dollar for dollar up to $12,500! Donate in honor of SAAS teacher or staff member and include a message!
Questions? Contact Anne-Marie at amguerrero@seattleacademy.org.

7th and 8th Grade Instrumental Concert with 8th Grade Vocal
May 10, 2017
7 PM, Jaffe Room (Middle School Building)

Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.7th and 8th Grade Instrumental Concert with 8th Grade Vocal May 10, 2017 7 PM, Jaffe Room (Middle School Building) Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

All-Grades Visual Arts Show
May 11, 2017 Reception
5-8 PM, Arts Center
Come enjoy all the wonderful visual artwork created by SAAS students this year.
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Yukon Trip Meeting
May 17, 2017
6 PM, STREAM Building
Questions? Contact Chelsea Wilcox at cwilcox@seattleacademy.org.

All-Grades Dance Concert
May 18 at 7 PM
May 19 at 7:30 PM
May 20 at 2 PM and 7 PM
12th Avenue Arts Annex,  TICKET INFORMATION
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Production: The Crucible
May 18 at 7 PM
May 19 at 3:30 PM STUDENT-ONLY Matinee
May 19 at 7:30 PM
May 20 at  7 PM
Arts Center,  TICKET INFORMATION
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

UPCOMING PARENT ASSOCIATION EVENTS

7th Grade Parent Coffee
May 8, 2017 CLICK HERE TO RSVP.
8:15 – 9:15 AM, 12th Avenue Arts Center
Please Note: On-campus parking is reserved from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.
Special Guest: Rob Phillips, Associate Head of School
Questions? Contact Meg Crager (megcrager@comcast.net) or Sherri Wolson (sherriwolson@gmail.com)

Spring Parent Association Meeting
May 10, 2017
6:30 PM – Social; 7 PM – Meeting
STREAM Building

Questions? Contact Kay Rawlings at rawsee1@gmail.com.

RECENT ARTICLES

Alum Profile: Nathaniel Hudson ‘03
Barry ‘16 Walking to Help Prevent Suicide
Upper School Robotics Team Finishes in Top 20 in the World
Ethics Bowl Team Competes at National Championship
History of Corner of 13th and E Union Featured in Pacific Northwest Magazine
Alumni Profile: Ashley Taraban ‘03
Seattle Academy Senior Project Program Partners with Koru