April 6

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director, at 206-676-6858 or shanrahan@seattleacademy.org. CAMPUS MAP

Friday Email
April 6, 2018

spreakbreak

REMINDERS!

SIGN UPS

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Summer Program Brochure Now Available!
CLICK HERE to review the Summer Program 2018 Brochure. Registration information is located on the last page. This year, registration is online and due by April 30, 2018.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattlecademy.org or Jodi Rea at jrea@seattleacademy.org.

Reporting Absences, Late Arrivals, and Early Dismissals
Middle School: msattendance@seattleacademy.org
Upper School: usattendance@seattleacademy.org

UPCOMING EVENTS

Spring Break
NO CLASSES
April 6 – 13, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Senior Yukon Trip Returns
April 8, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

China Trip Returns
April 10, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Vietnam Trip Returns
April 14, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Homelessness Forum: Finding Space to Solve Homelessness
April 14, 2018
8 AM – 5:15 AM (followed by a reception)
Seattle University School of Law
Click Here for More Details

Classes Resume
April 16, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

9th Grade Parent MeetingJUST ADDED TO THE CALENDAR!
April 17, 2018
7 PM, Arts Center
READ MORE
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

11th Grade Biology Field Trips
April 17 and 19, 2018
More details will be sent home soon.
Questions? Contact Melinda Mueller at mmueller@seattleacademy.org.

Dance Showcase Performance
April 18-19, 2018
7 PM, Jaffe Room, Temple de Hirsch Sinai
Parking available in the 16th Avenue parking lot.
NO TICKETS REQUIRED!
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

Spring Sports Mania
April 20, 2018
3 – 10 PM
Starfire Sports Complex
More details will be sent home soon.
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Track Invite
April 21, 2018
10 AM – 2 PM
West Seattle Stadium
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

“Angst: Raising Awareness Around Anxiety”
April 23, 2018    CLICK HERE TO RSVP
6:30 PM, Arts Center
MORE DETAILS
There will be two follow up coffees on April 30 and May 3. More details to come.
Questions? Contact Arden Hellmann at ardenhellmann@comcast.net.

11th Grade College Case Studies
April 24, 2018
6 – 9 PM
The Bush School (3400 E Harrison, 98112)
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

11th Grade College Case Studies
April 25, 2018
6 – 9 PM
University Prep  (8000 25th Ave. NE, 98115)
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

Spring Trimester Mid Term
April 27, 2018

8:15 AM – 3 PM
Classes will be held as normal on this day. An older version of the calendar listed this as a day off, but classes will be held as normal this day.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Faculty Professional Development Day
NO CLASSES
May 1, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

7th Grade SEE Trip
May 2-4, 2018
More details will be sent home soon.
Questions? Contact Jeff Budke at jbudke@seattleacademy.org or Madeline Williams at mwilliams@seattleacademy.org.

8th Grade ERB Testing
May 3, 2018
8:15 AM – Noon, Jaffe Room
More details will be sent home soon.
Questions? Contact Julia Kassissieh at jkassissieh@seattleacademy.org.

All-Grades Visual Arts Show
May 3, 2018
5 – 8 PM, Arts Center
Questions? Contact Lily Hotchkiss at lhotchkiss@seattleacademy.org.

9th Grade Pre-ACT Testing
May 4, 2018
8:15 AM – Noon, Jaffe Room
More details wil lbe sent home soon.
Questions? Contact Julia Kassissieh at jkassissieh@seattleacademy.org.

6th Grade Arts Evening
May 7, 2018
6:30 PM – Social
7:00 PM – Performances
More Details
Questions? Contact Fred Strong, Arts Department Chair, fstrong@seattleacademy.org.

Film Night
May 8, 2018
7 PM, Arts Center
NO TICKETS REQUIRED!
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Instrumental and 8th Grade Vocal Concert
May 9, 2018
7 PM, Jaffe Room, Temple de Hirsch Sinai
Parking available in the 16th Avenue parking lot.
NO TICKETS REQUIRED!
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

PARENT ASSOCIATION EVENTS

7TH GRADE POTLUCK

Here are the details regarding the upcoming 7th Grade Parent Potluck. Host will contact parents in their advisory with more details.

  • Chelsea Wilcox Advisory: Date TBA, Hosted b y Laura McMahon (1215 E Lynn, 98102)
  • Tyler Hartanov Advisory: Date TBA, Hosted by Kate Grossman (4214 Interlake Ave. N, 98103)

9TH GRADE POTLUCK

  • April 24, 7 PM, Hosted by Jack Kearney and Anne Schopf, 2002 Eastlake Ave. E Seattle, WA 98102
  • May 12, 7:30 PM, Hosted by Ari Gilmore and Sarah Strachan and Joel Shapiro and Ingrid Elliott, 120 Westlake Ave. N, #1107 Seattle, WA 98103
  • May 20, 5 PM, Hosted by Russ and Gemma Daggatt, 933 N Northlake Way Slip #9 Seattle, WA 98103
  • RSVP HERE: http://www.signupgenius.com/go/30e0e44a4a629abfa7-2018

10TH GRADE POTLUCK

  • May 5, 6:30-9:30PM, Hosted by Tom Rubin and Nina Russell, The Highlands, Seattle, WA 98177
    Please join us for a Cinco de Mayo dinner party! Guests please bring an appetizer, side, or dessert. Hosts will provide the main dish and drinks.
    Parking available. Limit 10 guests.
  • May 6, 4 – 6 PM, Hosted by APuneet and Nikki Piplani, Mercer Island Shore Club (4150 E Mercer Way, Mercer Island, WA 98040)
    Please join us on the beach for drinks and heavy appetizers!
    (In case of rain, we will gather at our house: 3777 79th Ave SE, Mercer Island.)
    Limit 12 guests.
  • May 11, 7-9:30 PM, Hosted by Andrew and Jane Hamel and co-hosted by MJ Leventhal, 1251 21st Ave E, Seattle, WA 98112
    Please join us for a Post-Cinco de Mayo evening with heavy appetizers, margaritas and drinks!
    Street parking available. No guest limit.
  • RSVP HERE: SAAS Class of 2020 Spring 2018 Parent Potluck Get-Togethers

“Angst: Raising Awareness Around Anxiety”
April 23, 2018    CLICK HERE TO RSVP
6:30 PM, Arts Center
MORE DETAILS
There will be two follow up coffees on April 30 and May 3. More details to come.
Questions? Contact Arden Hellmann at ardenhellmann@comcast.net.

10th Grade Parent Coffee
April 27, 2018 – CANCELLED

RECENT ARTICLES

Senior Innovations Hot Air Balloon Challenge
$500,000 Raised for Financial Aid at SAAS in the City
Schloss ‘21 Stars in New Film Entitled Sadie

SOCIAL MEDIA CHANNELS

Facebook:
Seattle Academy https://www.facebook.com/seattleacademy
Seattle Academy Cardinals (Athletics) https://www.facebook.com/SAASCardinals

Twitter:
@SeattleAcademy https://twitter.com/SeattleAcademy
@SAASCardinals (Athletics) https://twitter.com/SAASCardinals
@SAASGrad https://twitter.com/SAASGrad

YouTube: Seattle Academy Videos https://www.youtube.com/SeattleAcademyVideos
SmugMug: Saasphotogallery http://saasphotogallery.smugmug.com/

If you have any questions about our social media program, please contact Andrew Spitzer at aspitzer@seattleacademy.org.