March 10

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director.

Friday Email
March 10, 2017

march_calendar

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Bouldering Club – Sign Up Now for Spring Trimester!
The Middle & Upper School Bouldering Clubs continue at Seattle Bouldering Project this spring trimester. Monday/Wednesday for Middle School and Tuesdays/Thursday for Upper School. To sign up, please complete the following form. SPRING Trimester Interest form.
Questions? Contact Martin Brakke at mbrakke@seattleacademy.org.

SAAS Summer Program Brochure
This year’s Summer Program Brochure has been posted to Inside SAAS. We are offering a variety of programs. Please register early as classes tend to fill up quickly. Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School After-School Sign Up
Please sign up for next week’s
After-School Study Hall, Monday Art Club, and Friday Maker Club using this link: CLICK HERE FOR THE SIGN UP PAGE. Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons, Middle School Dean of Students, at clyons@seattleacademy.org.

UPCOMING EVENTS

Spring Trimester Begins
March 13, 2017
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Spring Sports Begin
March 13, 2017
Please Note: Middle School Lacrosse starts before this date.
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Instrumental and Middle School Combo in Concert
March 14, 2017
7 PM, Arts Center TICKET INFORMATION
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

Ashland Trip Meeting
March 15, 2017
6 PM, Arts Center
Questions? Contact Steve Retz at sretz@seattleacademy.org.

10th Grade Parent Meeting
March 15, 2017
7 PM, Arts Center
CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Lauri Conner at lconner@seattleacademy.org.

11th and 12th Grade Retreats
March 16-17, 2017
Additional details will be emailed home to families next week.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Vocal Revue
March 22-23, 2017
7 PM, Arts Center TICKET INFORMATION
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

Spring Sports Mania
March 24, 2017
Begins at 3 PM, Starfire Sports Complex
More details will be emailed home soon.
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick, Athletic Director, at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

India and Senior Yukon Trips Depart
March 31, 2017
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison, Outdoor Program Coordinator, at eaitchinson@seattleacademy.org.

Costa Rica Trip Departs
April 1, 2017
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison, Outdoor Program Coordinator, at eaitchinson@seattleacademy.org.

Ashland Trip Departs
April 3, 2017
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison, Outdoor Program Coordinator, at eaitchinson@seattleacademy.org.

6th and 7th Grade ERB Testing
April 3 and 4, 2017
Questions? Contact Megan Roberts at mroberts@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Spring Days
April 3-5, 2017
Questions? Contact Makenzie Brandon at mbrandon@seattleacademy.org.

Ashland Trip Returns
April 6, 2017
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison, Outdoor Program Coordinator, at eaitchinson@seattleacademy.org.

Spring Break – NO CLASSES
April 6-14, 2017
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

UPCOMING EVENTS

6th Grade Potlucks
Below are the details regarding the upcoming 6th Grade Potlucks which are arranged by advisory. Please respond to the host of your child’s advisory if you are planning to attend the potluck. This is a great opportunity to get to know the other families in your child’s advisory. We hope to see you there!

  • March 10, 5:30 PM, Mike Park’s Advisory, Home of Will and Melissa Holmes (3914 E Madison St., Seattle, 98112). Contact Will at wholmes@microsoft.com.
  • March 10, 6:30 PM, (NEW DATE AND TIME!) Achijah Berry and Kathi Petrotta’s Advisories, Hosted by Tracy Newman (tracy@newmanpartners.com) and Kevin Trombold/Heath Foster (health@tromboldlaw.com) at the home of Mike Cockrill and Tracy Newman (712 35th Ave., Seattle, 98122).

12th Grade Parent Potlucks
Below are the details regarding the upcoming 12th Grade Potlucks. Please RSVP at the link below. We hope to see you there!

  • March 10: Tonya Dressel and Mark Doran (Jackson)

The link below will lead you to a sign up genius that lists all four options and offers you the chance to sign up to bring something to share. You can then just click on the red sign up button next to the item you would like to bring for the gathering that fits in your schedule, and this will let your host know you are attending. All the addresses of the potlucks are listed on the sign up.

www.SignUpGenius.com/go/70A044BADAC283-parent

Questions? Contact Karen Woo at karen.woo@comcast.net.

10th Grade Potlucks
Below are dates regarding the upcoming 10th Grade Potlucks. CLICK HERE to RSVP.

  • Thursday, March 16:  Hosted by Trent and Rebecca Stedman (1105 Boylston Ave. E, Seattle, WA 98102), 6-9 PM.

8th Grade Potlucks
Below are the details regarding the upcoming 8th Grade Potlucks. Please RSVP at the link below. This is a great opportunity to get to know other families. We hope to see you there!

  • Saturday, March 25: Hosted by Tanya and  Robert Dimpsey (1517 1st St., Kirkland, 98033), 40 guests – dinner at Coyote Central, start time is 7 PM.
  • Saturday, April 1: Hosted by Asa Noriega & Michael Skoglund (1621 4th Ave. W, Seattle, 98119), 8 guests, dinner – start time is 6 PM.
  • Sunday, April 2: Hosted by Molly and Robert Bishop (3211 Cascadia Ave. S, Seattle, 98144), 15 guests, dinner  - start time is 6 PM.

CLICK HERE TO RSVP

Spring Parent Peer Group Discussions
We hope you can join us for the Spring Parent Peer Group Discussions. The dates are listed below. All discussions are held in the Vanderbilt Building with a 6:30 PM Social and a 7 PM discussion.

To learn more about Parent Peer Groups, click here.
Questions? Contact Megan Aukema at megan@aukemaassociates.com.

7th Grade Parent Coffee
March 20, 2017
8:15 – 9:30 AM, 12th Avenue Conference Room
Please Note: On-campus parking is reserved from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.
Special Guest: Jen Nelson, Middle School Counselor, and Erin Aitchison, Outdoor Program Coordinator
Questions? Contact Meg Crager (megcrager@comcast.net) or Sherri Wolson (sherriwolson@gmail.com).

10th Grade Parent Brown Bag Lunch
March 22, 2017
Noon – 1 PM, 12th Avenue Conference Room
Please Note: On-campus parking is reserved from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.
Special Guest: Rick DuPree, Director of Community Partnerships
Questions? Contact Peggy Rinne at peggy@rinne.com.

RECENT ARTICLES

Cardinal Union Building the First Vertically-Oriented Middle School in Seattle
Seattle Academy Robotics Prepares for West Super Regionals
Schenck ‘21 Performs at Moore Theatre
Model UN Participates in WASMUN Conference