March 16

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director, at 206-676-6858 or shanrahan@seattleacademy.org. CAMPUS MAP

Friday Email
March 16, 2018

microphone1

REMINDERS!

SIGN UPS

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Summer Program Brochure Now Available!
CLICK HERE to review the Summer Program 2018 Brochure. Registration information is located on the last page. This year, registration is online and due by April 30, 2018.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattlecademy.org or Jodi Rea at jrea@seattleacademy.org.

Reporting Absences, Late Arrivals, and Early Dismissals
Middle School: msattendance@seattleacademy.org
Upper School: usattendance@seattleacademy.org

UPCOMING EVENTS

Middle School Queer-Straight Alliance Social
March 16, 2018
5- 8 PM, STREAM Building
CLICK HERE TO RSVP.
Questions? Contact Lewis Maday-Travis at ltravis@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Track Invite
March 17, 2018
10 AM – 4 PM, West Seattle Stadium
Volunteers Needed! To volunteer, contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Vocal Revue
March 21-22, 2018
7 PM, Arts Center
Parking available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue Parking Lot (corner of 14th and E Columbia).
PURCHASE TICKETS
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

SAAS in the City
March 24, 2018
6:30 PM, Fremont Studios
SOLD OUT!
Questions? Contact Anne-Marie Guerrero at amguerrero@seattleacademy.org.

6th Grade Alaska Trip Meeting
March 26, 2018
6 PM, STREAM Building
Parking available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue Parking Lot (corner of 14th and E Columbia).
Questions? Contact Hilary Bowen at hbowen@seattleacademy.org.

China, Senior Yukon, and Vietnam Trips Depart
March 30, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

6th Grade ERB Testing
April 3, 2018
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Julia Kassissieh at jkassissieh@seattleacademy.org.

7th Grade ERB Testing
April 4, 2018
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Julia Kassissieh at jkassissieh@seattleacademy.org.

NOON DISMISSAL
April 5, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Spring Break
NO CLASSES
April 6 – 13, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Classes Resume
April 16, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

9th Grade Parent MeetingJUST ADDED TO THE CALENDAR!
April 17, 2018
7 PM, Arts Center
READ MORE
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

11th Grade Biology Field Trips
April 17 and 19, 2018
More details will be sent home soon.
Questions? Contact Melinda Mueller at mmueller@seattleacademy.org.

Dance Showcase Performance
April 18-19, 2018
7 PM, Jaffe Room, Temple de Hirsch Sinai
Parking available in the 16th Avenue parking lot.
PURCHASE TICKETS
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

Spring Sports Mania
April 20, 2018
3 – 10 PM
Starfire Sports Complex
More details will be sent home soon.
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Track Invite
April 21, 2018
10 AM – 2 PM
West Seattle Stadium
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

PARENT ASSOCIATION EVENTS

8th Grade Parent Coffee
March 19, 2018
8:15 – 9:30 AM, 12th Avenue Conference Room
Guest Speaker: Freddy Carley, 9th Grade Coordinator, on the transition from 8th to 9th grade.
Please Note: On-campus parking is reserved from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.
Questions? Contact Meg Crager at megcrager@comcast.net or Sherri Wolson at sherriwolson@gmail.com.

8th and 9th Grade Parent Peer Group Discussion
March 27, 2018
6:30 PM: Social
7 PM: Discussion (by grade)
CLICK HERE for more details.
Questions? Contact Kathy Risse at ppgsaas@gmail.com.

7TH GRADE POTLUCK

Here are the details regarding the upcoming 7th Grade Parent Potluck. Host will contact parents in their advisory with more details.

  • Megan Roberts Advisory: March 16, Hosted by Molly Bishop (3211 Cascadia Ave. S, 98144)
  • Jeff Budke and Caitlin Lyons Advisories: March 17, Hosted by Wendy Munroe and Heather Foster (Carnation)
  • Madeline Williams Advisory: March 31, Hosted by Wendy Feller (1817 9th Ave. W, 98119)
  • Chelsea Wilcox Advisory: Date TBA, Hosted b y Laura McMahon (1215 E Lynn, 98102)
  • Tyler Hartanov Advisory: Date TBA, Hosted by Kate Grossman (4214 Interlake Ave. N, 98103)

9TH GRADE POTLUCK

  • April 24, 7 PM, Hosted by Jack Kearney and Anne Schopf, 2002 Eastlake Ave. E Seattle, WA 98102
  • May 12, 7:30 PM, Hosted by Ari Gilmore and Sarah Strachan and Joel Shapiro and Ingrid Elliott, 120 Westlake Ave. N, #1107 Seattle, WA 98103
  • May 20, 5 PM, Hosted by Russ and Gemma Daggatt, 933 N Northlake Way Slip #9 Seattle, WA 98103
  • RSVP HERE: http://www.signupgenius.com/go/30e0e44a4a629abfa7-2018

    12TH GRADE POTLUCKS

    RSVP HERE: http://www.signupgenius.com/go/20f0f4eaaaf2ea64-saas5

    12th Grade Parent Potluck
    Friday, March 16, 6 PM
    Home of Ammi Borenstein & Vivian Scheidt
    1624 11th Ave. W Seattle, WA 98119

    12th Grade Parent Potluck
    Friday, March 30, 6 PM
    Home of Timothy Ufkes & Julie Santos
    2305 NW 100th St., Seattle, WA 98177

    RECENT ARTICLES

    Lam ‘18 and Baird ‘16 Named Finalists in Vocal Competition
    Fonseca ‘20 Teaches Former Prisoners How to Use Technology
    Sanderson ‘18 Featured on KNKX
    Anton Schwartz to Perform at Instrumental Concert on March 14

    SOCIAL MEDIA CHANNELS

    Facebook:
    Seattle Academy https://www.facebook.com/seattleacademy
    Seattle Academy Cardinals (Athletics) https://www.facebook.com/SAASCardinals

    Twitter:
    @SeattleAcademy https://twitter.com/SeattleAcademy
    @SAASCardinals (Athletics) https://twitter.com/SAASCardinals
    @SAASGrad https://twitter.com/SAASGrad

    YouTube: Seattle Academy Videos https://www.youtube.com/SeattleAcademyVideos
    SmugMug: Saasphotogallery http://saasphotogallery.smugmug.com/

    If you have any questions about our social media program, please contact Andrew Spitzer at aspitzer@seattleacademy.org.