March 23

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director, at 206-676-6858 or shanrahan@seattleacademy.org. CAMPUS MAP

Friday Email
March 23, 2018

SITC18 Banner for InsideSAAS Article

REMINDERS!

SIGN UPS

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Summer Program Brochure Now Available!
CLICK HERE to review the Summer Program 2018 Brochure. Registration information is located on the last page. This year, registration is online and due by April 30, 2018.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattlecademy.org or Jodi Rea at jrea@seattleacademy.org.

Reporting Absences, Late Arrivals, and Early Dismissals
Middle School: msattendance@seattleacademy.org
Upper School: usattendance@seattleacademy.org

UPCOMING EVENTS

March for Our Lives
March 24, 2018
Aligned with our previous communication, we would like to provide our families with an update for this weekend’s activities.  We are hearing from students, faculty, staff, and our broader SAAS community of the strong interest in participating in tomorrow’s March for Our Lives.  Seattle Academy has no planned activities as a school in this march but is aware that many of our community will be involved.  Seattle’s March for our Lives will begin at Cal Anderson Park at 10 AM with numerous student, governmental, and civic leaders speaking before marching peacefully through Seattle to the Seattle Center. Seattle is among 800 cities and communities mobilizing in support of safety in our schools and for reform.
We wish everyone a peaceful, safe, and inspiring Saturday. MORE DETAILS

SAAS in the City
March 24, 2018
6:30 PM, Fremont Studios
SOLD OUT!
Questions? Contact Anne-Marie Guerrero at amguerrero@seattleacademy.org.

6th Grade Alaska Trip Meeting
March 26, 2018
6 PM, STREAM Building
Parking available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue Parking Lot (corner of 14th and E Columbia).
Questions? Contact Hilary Bowen at hbowen@seattleacademy.org.

China, Senior Yukon, and Vietnam Trips Depart
March 30, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

6th Grade ERB Testing
April 3, 2018
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Julia Kassissieh at jkassissieh@seattleacademy.org.

7th Grade ERB Testing
April 4, 2018
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Julia Kassissieh at jkassissieh@seattleacademy.org.

NOON DISMISSAL
April 5, 2018
PLEASE NOTE: Afternoon buses will run three hours early on this day, leaving SAAS at 12:15 PM.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Spring Break
NO CLASSES
April 6 – 13, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Classes Resume
April 16, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

9th Grade Parent MeetingJUST ADDED TO THE CALENDAR!
April 17, 2018
7 PM, Arts Center
READ MORE
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

11th Grade Biology Field Trips
April 17 and 19, 2018
More details will be sent home soon.
Questions? Contact Melinda Mueller at mmueller@seattleacademy.org.

Dance Showcase Performance
April 18-19, 2018
7 PM, Jaffe Room, Temple de Hirsch Sinai
Parking available in the 16th Avenue parking lot.
PURCHASE TICKETS
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

Spring Sports Mania
April 20, 2018
3 – 10 PM
Starfire Sports Complex
More details will be sent home soon.
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Track Invite
April 21, 2018
10 AM – 2 PM
West Seattle Stadium
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

“Angst: Raising Awareness Around Anxiety”
April 23, 2018    CLICK HERE TO RSVP
6:30 PM, Arts Center
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Arden Hellmann at ardenhellmann@comcast.net.

11th Grade College Case Studies
April 24, 2018
6 – 9 PM
The Bush School (3400 E Harrison, 98112)
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

11th Grade College Case Studies
April 25, 2018
6 – 9 PM
University Prep  (8000 25th Ave. NE, 98115)
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

PARENT ASSOCIATION EVENTS

8th and 9th Grade Parent Peer Group Discussion
March 27, 2018
6:30 PM: Social
7 PM: Discussion (by grade)
CLICK HERE for more details.
Questions? Contact Kathy Risse at ppgsaas@gmail.com.

9th Grade Parent Coffee
March 28, 2018
8:15 – 9:30 AM

Tougo Coffee (1410 18th Ave.) NEW LOCATION!
Special Guest: Mari Anderson, SAAS Chief Operations Officer
PLEASE NOTE: On-campus parking is reserved from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.
Questions? Contact Michelle Gordon at tomichelleg@gmail.com.

7th Grade Parent Coffee
March 30, 2018
8:30 AM

Meitier (1017 E Union)
Special Guest: Nick Creach, SAAS Middle School Head
PLEASE NOTE: On-campus parking is reserved from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.
Questions? Contact Karen Leeds at karenleeds11@gmail.com.

7TH GRADE POTLUCK

Here are the details regarding the upcoming 7th Grade Parent Potluck. Host will contact parents in their advisory with more details.

  • Madeline Williams Advisory: March 31, Hosted by Wendy Feller (1817 9th Ave. W, 98119)
  • Chelsea Wilcox Advisory: Date TBA, Hosted b y Laura McMahon (1215 E Lynn, 98102)
  • Tyler Hartanov Advisory: Date TBA, Hosted by Kate Grossman (4214 Interlake Ave. N, 98103)

9TH GRADE POTLUCK

  • April 24, 7 PM, Hosted by Jack Kearney and Anne Schopf, 2002 Eastlake Ave. E Seattle, WA 98102
  • May 12, 7:30 PM, Hosted by Ari Gilmore and Sarah Strachan and Joel Shapiro and Ingrid Elliott, 120 Westlake Ave. N, #1107 Seattle, WA 98103
  • May 20, 5 PM, Hosted by Russ and Gemma Daggatt, 933 N Northlake Way Slip #9 Seattle, WA 98103
  • RSVP HERE: http://www.signupgenius.com/go/30e0e44a4a629abfa7-2018

12TH GRADE POTLUCKS

RSVP HERE: http://www.signupgenius.com/go/20f0f4eaaaf2ea64-saas5

12th Grade Parent Potluck
Friday, March 30, 6 PM
Home of Timothy Ufkes & Julie Santos
2305 NW 100th St., Seattle, WA 98177

RECENT ARTICLES

Baird ‘16 Wins First Place in Kobe Jazz Vocalist Competition
Forslund ‘19 Wins National Award for Photography

SAAS Robotics Qualifies for World Championship Second Year in a Row

SOCIAL MEDIA CHANNELS

Facebook:
Seattle Academy https://www.facebook.com/seattleacademy
Seattle Academy Cardinals (Athletics) https://www.facebook.com/SAASCardinals

Twitter:
@SeattleAcademy https://twitter.com/SeattleAcademy
@SAASCardinals (Athletics) https://twitter.com/SAASCardinals
@SAASGrad https://twitter.com/SAASGrad

YouTube: Seattle Academy Videos https://www.youtube.com/SeattleAcademyVideos
SmugMug: Saasphotogallery http://saasphotogallery.smugmug.com/

If you have any questions about our social media program, please contact Andrew Spitzer at aspitzer@seattleacademy.org.