March 24

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director.

Friday Email
March 24, 2017

SpringMania

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Middle School Monday Morning Meeting
March 27, 2017
On Monday morning, Middle School students and faculty will meet with Seattle Police Officer Monique Avery. Monique will be talking about internet safety and cyber bullying. We encourage families to follow up with their children at home after the meeting.
Questions? Contact Jennifer Nelson at jnelson@seattleacademy.org.

SAAS Summer Program Brochure
This year’s Summer Program Brochure has been posted to Inside SAAS. We are offering a variety of programs. Please register early as classes tend to fill up quickly. Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School After-School Sign Up
Please sign up for next week’s
After-School Study Hall, Monday Art Club, and Friday Maker Club using this link: CLICK HERE FOR THE SIGN UP PAGE. Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons, Middle School Dean of Students, at clyons@seattleacademy.org.

UPCOMING EVENTS

Spring Sports Mania
March 24, 2017
Begins at 3 PM, Starfire Sports Complex
Check the Middle School and Upper School sports calendars for the schedule.
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick, Athletic Director, at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

India and Senior Yukon Trips Depart
March 31, 2017
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison, Outdoor Program Coordinator, at eaitchinson@seattleacademy.org.

Costa Rica Trip Departs
April 1, 2017
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison, Outdoor Program Coordinator, at eaitchinson@seattleacademy.org.

Ashland Trip Departs
April 3, 2017
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison, Outdoor Program Coordinator, at eaitchinson@seattleacademy.org.

6th and 7th Grade ERB Testing
April 3 and 4, 2017
Questions? Contact Megan Roberts at mroberts@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Spring Days
April 3-5, 2017
Questions? Contact Makenzie Brandon at mbrandon@seattleacademy.org.

Ashland Trip Returns
April 6, 2017
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison, Outdoor Program Coordinator, at eaitchinson@seattleacademy.org.

Spring Break – NO CLASSES
April 6-14, 2017
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Senior Yukon Trip Returns
April 9, 2017
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison, Outdoor Program Coordinator, at eaitchinson@seattleacademy.org.

Costa Rica Trip Returns
April 11, 2017
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison, Outdoor Program Coordinator, at eaitchinson@seattleacademy.org.

India Trip Returns
April 14, 2017
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison, Outdoor Program Coordinator, at eaitchinson@seattleacademy.org.

Classes Resume
April 17, 2017
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

College Sports Night
April 18, 2017
6 PM, Arts Center
Please join the College Advising and Athletics Departments for an informal conversation regarding college athletics. MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

Learning Differences and the College Search
April 18, 2017
7:15 PM, Arts Center
Please join the College Advising and Learning Support Departments for a conversation regarding the college search and learning differences. MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

11th Grade Biology Trip
April 19 and April 21, 2017
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Speech Night
April 19, 2017
7 PM, Arts Center

Questions? Contact Joel Underwood at junderwood@seattleacademy.org.

Parent Education Committee Presents: Teen Wellness Forum
April 24, 2017
6:30 PM – Social; 7 PM – Forum
Arts Center MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Arden Hellmann, Parent Education Chair, at ardenhellmann@comcast.net.

Questions? Contact Joel Underwood at junderwood@seattleacademy.org.

UPCOMING EVENTS

8th Grade Potlucks
Below are the details regarding the upcoming 8th Grade Potlucks. Please RSVP at the link below. This is a great opportunity to get to know other families. We hope to see you there!

  • Saturday, March 25: Hosted by Tanya and  Robert Dimpsey (1517 1st St., Kirkland, 98033), 40 guests – dinner at Coyote Central, start time is 7 PM.
  • Saturday, April 1: Hosted by Asa Noriega & Michael Skoglund (1621 4th Ave. W, Seattle, 98119), 8 guests, dinner – start time is 6 PM.
  • Sunday, April 2: Hosted by Molly and Robert Bishop (3211 Cascadia Ave. S, Seattle, 98144), 15 guests, dinner  - start time is 6 PM.

CLICK HERE TO RSVP

Spring Parent Peer Group Discussions
We hope you can join us for the Spring Parent Peer Group Discussions. The dates are listed below. All discussions are held in the Vanderbilt Building with a 6:30 PM Social and a 7 PM discussion.

To learn more about Parent Peer Groups, click here.
Questions? Contact Megan Aukema at megan@aukemaassociates.com.

9th Grade Parent Coffee
April 21, 2017
8:15 – 9:30 AM, Rhein Haus (912 12th Ave.)
Please Note: On-campus parking is reserved from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.
Questions? Contact Juli Sanchez at julisanchez@msn.com.

RECENT ARTICLES

Greenstein ‘17 Named Finalist in Mars Medical Challenge
Jaff ‘19 Awarded Rank of Eagle Scout
Finley ‘12 Awarded Thomas J. Watson Fellowship Grant
Greenstein’17 Presents at The Society’s Annual Conference
SAAS eSports Team Competes at National Level