March 30

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director, at 206-676-6858 or shanrahan@seattleacademy.org. CAMPUS MAP

Friday Email
March 30, 2018

spring-break-2018

REMINDERS!

SIGN UPS

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Summer Program Brochure Now Available!
CLICK HERE to review the Summer Program 2018 Brochure. Registration information is located on the last page. This year, registration is online and due by April 30, 2018.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattlecademy.org or Jodi Rea at jrea@seattleacademy.org.

Reporting Absences, Late Arrivals, and Early Dismissals
Middle School: msattendance@seattleacademy.org
Upper School: usattendance@seattleacademy.org

UPCOMING EVENTS

6th Grade ERB Testing
April 3, 2018
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Julia Kassissieh at jkassissieh@seattleacademy.org.

Roman Britain Trip Meeting
April 3, 2018
6 PM, STREAM Building
Questions? Contact Meredith Hale at mhale@seattleacademy.org.

7th Grade ERB Testing
April 4, 2018
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Julia Kassissieh at jkassissieh@seattleacademy.org.

NOON DISMISSAL
April 5, 2018
PLEASE NOTE: Afternoon buses will run three hours early on this day, leaving SAAS at 12:15 PM.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Spring Break
NO CLASSES
April 6 – 13, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Senior Yukon Trip Returns
April 8, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

China Trip Returns
April 10, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Vietnam Trip Returns
April 14, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Homelessness Forum: Finding Space to Solve Homelessness
April 14, 2018
8 AM – 5:15 AM (followed by a reception)
Seattle University School of Law
Click Here for More Details

Classes Resume
April 16, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

9th Grade Parent MeetingJUST ADDED TO THE CALENDAR!
April 17, 2018
7 PM, Arts Center
READ MORE
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

11th Grade Biology Field Trips
April 17 and 19, 2018
More details will be sent home soon.
Questions? Contact Melinda Mueller at mmueller@seattleacademy.org.

Dance Showcase Performance
April 18-19, 2018
7 PM, Jaffe Room, Temple de Hirsch Sinai
Parking available in the 16th Avenue parking lot.
NO TICKETS REQUIRED!
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

Spring Sports Mania
April 20, 2018
3 – 10 PM
Starfire Sports Complex
More details will be sent home soon.
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Track Invite
April 21, 2018
10 AM – 2 PM
West Seattle Stadium
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

“Angst: Raising Awareness Around Anxiety”
April 23, 2018    CLICK HERE TO RSVP
6:30 PM, Arts Center
MORE DETAILS
There will be two follow up coffees on April 30 and May 3. More details to come.
Questions? Contact Arden Hellmann at ardenhellmann@comcast.net.

11th Grade College Case Studies
April 24, 2018
6 – 9 PM
The Bush School (3400 E Harrison, 98112)
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

11th Grade College Case Studies
April 25, 2018
6 – 9 PM
University Prep  (8000 25th Ave. NE, 98115)
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

Spring Trimester Mid Term
April 27, 2018

8:15 AM – 3 PM
Classes will be held as normal on this day. An older version of the calendar listed this as a day off, but classes will be held as normal this day.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Faculty Professional Development Day
NO CLASSES
May 1, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

7th Grade SEE Trip
May 2-4, 2018
More details will be sent home soon.
Questions? Contact Jeff Budke at jbudke@seattleacademy.org or Madeline Williams at mwilliams@seattleacademy.org.

8th Grade ERB Testing
May 3, 2018
8:15 AM – Noon, Jaffe Room
More details will be sent home soon.
Questions? Contact Julia Kassissieh at jkassissieh@seattleacademy.org.

All-Grades Visual Arts Show
May 3, 2018
5 – 8 PM, Arts Center
Questions? Contact Lily Hotchkiss at lhotchkiss@seattleacademy.org.

9th Grade Pre-ACT Testing
May 4, 2018
8:15 AM – Noon, Jaffe Room
More details wil lbe sent home soon.
Questions? Contact Julia Kassissieh at jkassissieh@seattleacademy.org.

PARENT ASSOCIATION EVENTS

7TH GRADE POTLUCK

Here are the details regarding the upcoming 7th Grade Parent Potluck. Host will contact parents in their advisory with more details.

  • Madeline Williams Advisory: March 31, Hosted by Wendy Feller (1817 9th Ave. W, 98119)
  • Chelsea Wilcox Advisory: Date TBA, Hosted b y Laura McMahon (1215 E Lynn, 98102)
  • Tyler Hartanov Advisory: Date TBA, Hosted by Kate Grossman (4214 Interlake Ave. N, 98103)

9TH GRADE POTLUCK

  • April 24, 7 PM, Hosted by Jack Kearney and Anne Schopf, 2002 Eastlake Ave. E Seattle, WA 98102
  • May 12, 7:30 PM, Hosted by Ari Gilmore and Sarah Strachan and Joel Shapiro and Ingrid Elliott, 120 Westlake Ave. N, #1107 Seattle, WA 98103
  • May 20, 5 PM, Hosted by Russ and Gemma Daggatt, 933 N Northlake Way Slip #9 Seattle, WA 98103
  • RSVP HERE: http://www.signupgenius.com/go/30e0e44a4a629abfa7-2018

“Angst: Raising Awareness Around Anxiety”
April 23, 2018    CLICK HERE TO RSVP
6:30 PM, Arts Center
MORE DETAILS
There will be two follow up coffees on April 30 and May 3. More details to come.
Questions? Contact Arden Hellmann at ardenhellmann@comcast.net.

10th Grade Parent Coffee
April 27, 2018
8:30 – 9:15 AM
Rhein Haus (912 12th Ave.)
Please Note: On-campus parking is assigned from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.
Questions? Contact Michelle Maclise at maclise@me.com.

RECENT ARTICLES

NANDA Visits Stage Combat Class
Black ‘22 Write Op-Ed for Teen Vogue
Brower ‘18 Places Second in National Ethics Case Writing Competition
Seattle Academy Students Lead the Way in March for Our Lives Seattle

SOCIAL MEDIA CHANNELS

Facebook:
Seattle Academy https://www.facebook.com/seattleacademy
Seattle Academy Cardinals (Athletics) https://www.facebook.com/SAASCardinals

Twitter:
@SeattleAcademy https://twitter.com/SeattleAcademy
@SAASCardinals (Athletics) https://twitter.com/SAASCardinals
@SAASGrad https://twitter.com/SAASGrad

YouTube: Seattle Academy Videos https://www.youtube.com/SeattleAcademyVideos
SmugMug: Saasphotogallery http://saasphotogallery.smugmug.com/

If you have any questions about our social media program, please contact Andrew Spitzer at aspitzer@seattleacademy.org.