March 31

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director.

Friday Email
March 31, 2017

springbreak2017

ANNOUNCEMENTS

7th Grade History Update
March 31, 2017
Today, Middle School Counselor, Jennifer Nelson, visited all 7th grade history classes to discuss kindness and how kids can demonstrate this at school, home, and in the digital universe. We encourage families to follow up with their children at home this weekend. Questions? Contact Jennifer Nelson at jnelson@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Bouldering Announcement
Due to the other activities taking place during our shortened week, there will be NO Middle School Bouldering Club next week, April 3-5. Questions? Contact Thomas Adams at tadams@seattleacademy.org.

SAAS Summer Program Brochure
This year’s Summer Program Brochure has been posted to Inside SAAS. We are offering a variety of programs. Please register early as classes tend to fill up quickly. Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School After-School Sign Up
Please sign up for next week’s
After-School Study Hall, Monday Art Club, and Friday Maker Club using this link: CLICK HERE FOR THE SIGN UP PAGE. Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons, Middle School Dean of Students, at clyons@seattleacademy.org.

UPCOMING EVENTS

Costa Rica Trip Departs
April 1, 2017
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Ashland Trip Departs
April 3, 2017
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

6th and 7th Grade ERB Testing
April 3 and 4, 2017
Questions? Contact Megan Roberts at mroberts@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Spring Days
April 3-5, 2017
Questions? Contact Makenzie Brandon at mbrandon@seattleacademy.org or Jarad Gifford at jgifford@seattleacademy.org.

Ashland Trip Returns
April 6, 2017
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Spring Break – NO CLASSES
April 6-14, 2017
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Senior Yukon Trip Returns
April 9, 2017
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Costa Rica Trip Returns
April 11, 2017
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

India Trip Returns
April 14, 2017
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Classes Resume
April 17, 2017
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

College Sports Night
April 18, 2017
6 PM, Arts Center
Please join the College Advising and Athletics Departments for an informal conversation regarding college athletics. MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

Learning Differences and the College Search
April 18, 2017
7:15 PM, Arts Center
Please join the College Advising and Learning Support Departments for a conversation regarding the college search and learning differences. MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

11th Grade Biology Trip
April 19 and April 21, 2017
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Speech Night
April 19, 2017
7 PM, Arts Center

Questions? Contact Joel Underwood at junderwood@seattleacademy.org.

Parent Education Committee Presents: Teen Wellness Forum
April 24, 2017 CLICK HERE TO RSVP
6:30 PM – Social; 7 PM – Forum
Arts Center MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Arden Hellmann, Parent Education Chair, at ardenhellmann@comcast.net.

UPCOMING EVENTS

8th Grade Potlucks
Below are the details regarding the upcoming 8th Grade Potlucks. Please RSVP at the link below. This is a great opportunity to get to know other families. We hope to see you there!

  • Saturday, April 1: Hosted by Asa Noriega & Michael Skoglund (1621 4th Ave. W, Seattle, 98119), 8 guests, dinner – start time is 6 PM.
  • Sunday, April 2: Hosted by Molly and Robert Bishop (3211 Cascadia Ave. S, Seattle, 98144), 15 guests, dinner  - start time is 6 PM.

CLICK HERE TO RSVP

9th Grade Parent Coffee
April 21, 2017
8:15 – 9:30 AM, Rhein Haus (912 12th Ave.)
Please Note: On-campus parking is reserved from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.
Questions? Contact Juli Sanchez at julisanchez@msn.com.

RECENT ARTICLES

Seattle Academy Staff Attend NCCE Conference
Cobb ‘19 Named to Rawlings-Perfect Game All-American List
Greenstein ‘17 Wins the Mars Medical Challenge
Christofilis ‘21 Profiled by Youth1
8th Grade Field Trip Combines Learning and Fun