May 4

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director, at 206-676-6858 or shanrahan@seattleacademy.org. CAMPUS MAP

Friday Email
May 4, 2018

Still for film night ad.pct

REMINDERS!

SIGN UPS

ANNOUNCEMENTS

RapidRide G Line Utility Work
May 4 – 8, 2018
Crews working for SDOT will begin to locate utilities for the RapidRide G (Madison Street BRT) project at four locations at the intersection of Madison and 12th Ave. The work is scheduled between May 4-8 but is dependent upon weather and equipment availability. The work will take place during the daytime only and last approximately one day per utility location. The work is expected to increase congestion around the school.
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact information is
MadisonBRT@seattle.gov or 206-615-1485.

Reporting Absences, Late Arrivals, and Early Dismissals
Middle School: msattendance@seattleacademy.org
Upper School: usattendance@seattleacademy.org

UPCOMING EVENTS

6th Grade Arts Evening
May 7, 2018
6:15 PM – Social
7:00 PM – Performances
More Details
Questions? Contact Fred Strong, Arts Department Chair, fstrong@seattleacademy.org.

Zambia Trip Meeting
May 8, 2018
6:30 PM, STREAM Building
Questions? Contact Melinda Mueller at mmueller@seattleacademy.org.

Film Night
May 8, 2018
7 PM, Arts Center
NO TICKETS REQUIRED!
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

GiveBIG
May 9, 2018
SAAS will participate in GiveBIG, The Seattle Foundation’s 24-hour online community giving event, on May 9, 2018.
Click here to learn more and to pre-schedule a gift to support the people and programs at SAAS.
Questions? Contact Anne-Marie Guerrero at amguerrero@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Instrumental and 8th Grade Vocal Concert
May 9, 2018
7 PM, Jaffe Room, Temple de Hirsch Sinai
Parking available in the 16th Avenue parking lot.
NO TICKETS REQUIRED!
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

Senior College Night
May 10, 2018
7 PM, Arts Center
MORE DETAILS
For parents and students.
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

Junior/Senior Prom
May 12, 2018
8 – 10 PM, Metropolis at SODO
Tickets will go on sale April 30. The will be $30 the first week, $35 the second week.
Questions? Contact Makenzie Brandon at mbrandon@seattleacademy.org.

6th Grade Alaska Trip Meeting
May 15, 2018
6 PM, STREAM Building
Questions? Cotnact Hilary Bowen at hbowen@seattleacademy.org.

Spring Parent Association Meeting
May 16, 2018
6:30 Social, 7 PM Meeting
STREAM Building
Questions? Contact Sharon Perlin at sharonperlin@gmail.com.

6th Grade Student Social
May 17, 2018
3 – 5 PM, Gym
Students do not need to bring a change of clothes, but they are certainly welcome to change into dance attire if they so choose. There will be snacks for sale to benefit the Zambia Club. If your child would like to purchase something, please send them to school with some cash. In addition to a DJ and music, there will also be games and contests to keep kids engaged throughout the event. We will follow up with more details about this.
Questions? Contact Achijah Berry at aberry@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Production of Blue Stockings
May 17-19, 2018 PURCHASE TICKETS
7 PM, Arts Center
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Symposium
May 18, 2018
8:15 AM – Noon, Middle School Building
More details will be emailed home soon.
Questions? Contact Lewis Maday-Travis at ltravis@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School NOON DISMISSAL
May 18, 2018
The Middle School will have a noon dismissal following the Symposium. Afternoon shuttle buses will leave SAAS at 12:15 as well as 3:15 on this day.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Field Day
May 21, 2018
11:45  AM – 3 PM, Jefferson Park
MORE DETAILS TO COME
Questions? Contact Hilary Bowen at hbowen@seattleacademy.org.

Junior Parent College Night
May 22, 2018
7 PM, STREAM Building
For Parents Only – MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

7th Grade Production: A Window to Murder
May 23-24, 2018 PURCHASE TICKETS
5:30 PM, Arts Center
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

All-Grades Dance Concert
May 24-26, 2018 PURCHASE TICKETS
May 24: 7 pM
May 25: 7 PM
May 26: 2 PM and 7 PM
12th Avenue Arts (1620 12th Avenue, 98122)
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

The Onions in Concert
May 25-26, 2018 PURCHASE TICKETS
May 25: 7 PM
May 26: 2 PM and 7 PM
Arts Center (1100 12th Avenue)
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

Memorial DayNO CLASSES
May 28, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Senior Project Night
May 29, 2018
7 PM, Arts Center
Come watch seniors give a presentation on what they learned and experienced on their Senior Project.
Questions? Concact Rick DuPree at rdupree@seattleacademy.org.

Speech Night
May 30, 2018
7 PM, Arts Center
Questions? Contact Joel Underwood at junderwood@seattleacademy.org.

NOON DISMISSAL
June 1, 2018
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Senior Lunch

June 1, 2018
12:30 PM, Arts Center
Questions? Contact Makenzie Brandon at mbrandon@seattleacademy.org.

China Trip Reunion
June 1, 2018
5:30 PM, STREAM
Questions? Contact Emily Lin at elin@seattleacademy.org.

PARENT ASSOCIATION EVENTS

6th Grade Social Prior to Arts Evening
May 7, 2018
6:15 PM, Arts Center

9TH GRADE POTLUCK

  • May 12, 7:30 PM, Hosted by Ari Gilmore and Sarah Strachan and Joel Shapiro and Ingrid Elliott, 120 Westlake Ave. N, #1107 Seattle, WA 98103
  • May 20, 5 PM, Hosted by Russ and Gemma Daggatt, 933 N Northlake Way Slip #9 Seattle, WA 98103
  • RSVP HERE: http://www.signupgenius.com/go/30e0e44a4a629abfa7-2018

10TH GRADE POTLUCK

  • May 5, 6:30-9:30PM, Hosted by Tom Rubin and Nina Russell, The Highlands, Seattle, WA 98177
    Please join us for a Cinco de Mayo dinner party! Guests please bring an appetizer, side, or dessert. Hosts will provide the main dish and drinks.
    Parking available. Limit 10 guests. SPACE STILL AVAILABLE!
  • May 6 CANCELLED
  • May 11, 7-9:30 PM, Hosted by Andrew and Jane Hamel and co-hosted by MJ Leventhal, 1251 21st Ave E, Seattle, WA 98112
    Please join us for a Post-Cinco de Mayo evening with heavy appetizers, margaritas and drinks!
    Street parking available. No guest limit. SPACE STILL AVAILABLE!
  • RSVP HERE: SAAS Class of 2020 Spring 2018 Parent Potluck Get-Togethers

12th Grade Parent Lunch
June 1, 2018
12 – 2 PM
Home of Michael and Barbara Malone, 1531 10th Ave. E
Questions? Contact Hallidie Haid at hallidie.haid@gmail.com.

RECENT ARTICLES

Seattle Academy Musicians Open for General Mojo’s
Seattle Academy Alum Nominated for the Callahan Award
Seattle Academy Senior Published on Capitol Hill Blog
Seattle Academy Senior Selected as 2018 U.S. Presidential Scholars Semifinalists
Seattle Academy Celebrates Spring Athletes at Spring Mania

SOCIAL MEDIA CHANNELS

Facebook:
Seattle Academy https://www.facebook.com/seattleacademy
Seattle Academy Cardinals (Athletics) https://www.facebook.com/SAASCardinals

Twitter:
@SeattleAcademy https://twitter.com/SeattleAcademy
@SAASCardinals (Athletics) https://twitter.com/SAASCardinals
@SAASGrad https://twitter.com/SAASGrad

YouTube: Seattle Academy Videos https://www.youtube.com/SeattleAcademyVideos
SmugMug: Saasphotogallery http://saasphotogallery.smugmug.com/

If you have any questions about our social media program, please contact Andrew Spitzer at aspitzer@seattleacademy.org.