October 13

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director, at 206-676-6858 or shanrahan@seattleacademy.org. CAMPUS MAP

Friday Email
October 13, 2017

8thParentMeeting

REMINDERS!

SIGN UPS

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Upper School Opportunities and Clubs

  • Outside Opportunities Fair: There will be an Opportunities Fair for Upper School students on Monday, October 16, during break in the STREAM Commons. This is an opportunity for students to learn about travel/abroad experiences, as well as service opportunities. Organizations range from semester abroad schools, to service learning trips, to one-time local service work opportunities in Seattle.
  • Club Information: Wondering what clubs are available to students? Please take a look at our Upper School Clubs Guide. Students can reach out to club leaders or simply show up to the next meeting to get involved!

Questions? Please contact Makenzie Brandon, Assistant Head of Upper School, at mbrandon@seattleacademy.org.

2017-18 Trip Offerings Announced!
CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFORMATION

October 19: Upper School Trip Night, STREAM Building
6 PM: China, Vietnam, White Clouds, and North Cascades
7 PM: Costa Rica, Zambia, New Orleans
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison at eaitchinson@seattleacademy.org.

Reporting Absences, Late Arrivals, and Early Dismissals
Middle School: msattendance@seattleacademy.org
Upper School: usattendance@seattleacademy.org

UPCOMING EVENTS

Fall Mid-Term – NO CLASSES
October 13, 2017
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

10th and 11th Grade PSAT Testing
October 14, 2017
8 AM, Gym
CLICK HERE for more details. 
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

8th Grade Parent Meeting
CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS
October 17, 2017
6:30 PM: Social
7:00 PM: Meeting
STREAM Building (1220 E Spring St.)
Parking available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.

Questions? Contact Lauri Conner at lconner@seattleacademy.org.

7th Grade Retreat
October 19-20, 2017
Fort Worden (Port Townsend, WA)

MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons at clyons@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Trip Night
October 19, 2017 MORE DETAILS
STREAM Building
6 PM: China, Vietnam, White Clouds, and North Cascades
7 PM: Costa Rica, Zambia, New Orleans
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison at eaitchison@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School GSA Social
October 20, 2017
5-8 PM, Evergreen School
Students will play games, hear from student speakers, and participate in discussions around how to create safer spaces in our school communities for all students, especially those who identify as LGBTQ or questioning.  Dinner will be provided. All who plan to attend should fill out this form AND email Lewis Maday-Travis (ltravis@seattleacademy.org) to let us know you are coming and whether or not you need transportation to and from the event!
Questions? Contact Lewis Maday-Travis at ltravis@seattleacademy.org.

9th Grade Social
October 20, 2017
7-9 PM, Gym
All 9th graders are invited to attend the “Freshman Function,” a fun Halloween-themed event which will include lasertag, dodge ball, video games, a photo booth, prizes, and food! Costumes are optional.
Lasertag Waiver – students must have a waiver on file to play lasertag. Please return completed forms to Freddy Carley.
Questions? Contact Freddy Carley at fcarley@seattleacademy.org.

6th Grade SEE Trip Gear Check
October 25, 2017
Students should bring their gear with them to school
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons at clyons@seattleacademy.org.

Parent-Teacher Conferences – NO CLASSES
October 26-27, 2017
Parents will be emailed specific conference details (time and location) on October 17. 
To schedule a conference or ask questions, contact Kelley Rettenmier at krettenmier@seattleacademy.org.

6th Grade SEE Trip
November 1-3, 2017
Departure: November 1 at 7 AM, 16th Avenue Parking Lot
Return: November 3 at 3:15 PM, 16th Avenue Parking Lot
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons at clyons@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Musical:  City of Angels
November 1-4, 2017
7 PM, Arts Center
Parking available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue Parking Lot (corner of 14th and E Columbia).
PURCHASE TICKETS
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

PARENT EVENTS

10th – 12th Grade Parent Peer Group Discussion
October 16, 2017
6:30 PM: Social
7 PM: Discussion (by grade)
CLICK HERE for more details.
Questions? Contact Kathy Risse at ppgsaas@gmail.com.

6th Grade Parent Coffee
October 20, 2017
8:15 – 9:30 AM, SAAS 12th Avenue Conference Room (on 12th between the Arts Center and Vanderbilt)
Please Note: On-campus parking is reserved from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.

Our guest speakers will be Jen Nelson, SAAS Middle School Counselor.
Questions? Please contact Aaron Lieberman at aaronlieberman@gmail.com.

9th Grade Parent Social
October 20, 2017
7-10 PM, Optimism Brewing Company (1158 Broadway)
Parking is available in the SAAS 14th Avenue Parking lot (corner of 14th and E Columbia).

We will provide light appetizers and the first round of drinks is on us (unless we get a staggering turn out in which case we may run out of free drink tickets:)). There are food trucks in their parking lot who sell great food.
Questions? Contact Tamar Boden at tamar_boden@hotmail.com.

8th and 9th Grade Parent Peer Group Discussion
October 23, 2017
6:30 PM: Social
7 PM: Discussion (by grade)
CLICK HERE for more details.
Questions? Contact Kathy Risse at ppgsaas@gmail.com.

7th Grade Parent Social
November 2, 2017
6 PM, Rhein Haus (912 12th Avenue)

Please Note: The gym garage is not available due to the Upper School musical. Limited parking available in the 14th Avenue lot. We encourage street parking if possible.
Join us for a night of catching up with friends and meeting new 7th grade parents. We have an area reserved by the fireplace and a full menu of food and beverages will be available for purchase.
Questions? Contact Kelli McSherry at kelli@mcsherry.com.

RECENT ARTICLES

Seattle Academy Celebrates Its 34th Birthday!
October is Bullying Prevention Month

Buy Nothing Approaches Half a Million Members

SOCIAL MEDIA CHANNELS

Facebook:
Seattle Academy https://www.facebook.com/seattleacademy
Seattle Academy Cardinals (Athletics) https://www.facebook.com/SAASCardinals

Twitter:
@SeattleAcademy https://twitter.com/SeattleAcademy
@SAASCardinals (Athletics) https://twitter.com/SAASCardinals
@SAASGrad https://twitter.com/SAASGrad

YouTube: Seattle Academy Videos https://www.youtube.com/SeattleAcademyVideos
SmugMug: Saasphotogallery http://saasphotogallery.smugmug.com/

If you have any questions about our social media program, please contact Andrew Spitzer at aspitzer@seattleacademy.org.