October 14

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director.

Friday Email
October 14, 2016

DADInvite

REMINDERS

Middle School After-School Sign Up
Please sign up for next week’s After-School Study HallMonday Art Club, and Friday Maker Club using this link: CLICK HERE FOR THE SIGN UP PAGE. Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons, Middle School Dean of Students, atclyons@seattleacademy.org.

Donor Appreciation Dinner – DEADLINE EXTENDED!
Make a gift or pledge of any amount by October 18 (new deadline!) and join us for the Donor Appreciation Dinner!  Already made your Annual Fund gift or pledge?  Thank you! Please follow the same RSVP link to reserve your two complimentary tickets.  We hope to see you there!
Questions? Contact Anne-Marie Guerrero, Annual Fund Director, at amguerrero@seattleacademy.org.

UPCOMING EVENTS

PSAT Testing for 10th and 11th Grade
October 15, 2016
8:00 AM – Noon, Gym
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Accommodations Meeting
October 17, 2016
7 PM, STREAM Building
Questions? Contact Christine Davis-Goff at cdavisgoff@seattleacademy.org.

8th Grade Parent Meeting
October 18, 2016
6:30 – Social, 7 PM – Presentation
STREAM Building
Questions? Contact Nick Creach at ncreach@seattleacademy.org or Julia Kassissieh at jkassissieh@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Trip Night
October 19, 2016
6 PM, STREAM Building
Our 2016-17 trip offerings will be announced soon!
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison at eaitchison@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Trip Night
October 20, 2016
6 PM, STREAM Building
Our 2016-17 trip offerings will be announced soon!
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison at eaitchison@seattleacademy.org.

Freshman Function 2016
October 21, 2016
7-9 PM, Gym
All freshman are invited to attend this social which will include laser tag, dodge ball, and art. Dinner will be provided!
Questions? Contact Freddy Carley at fcarley@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Fall Dance
October 22, 2016
8 – 10 PM, Gym
Details will be sent home soon.
Questions? Contact Makenzie Brandon at mbrandon@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Accommodations Meeting
October 25, 2016
7 PM, STREAM Building
Questions? Contact Christine Davis-Goff at cdavisgoff@seattleacademy.org.

6th Grade SEE Trip Gear Check
October 26, 2016
Students should bring all their gear to school this day. Gear will remain at school until students leave for the SEE Trip on November 2.
Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons, Middle School Dean of Students, at clyons@seattleacademy.org.

Parent-Teacher Conferences - NO CLASSES
October 27-28, 2016
Conferences are scheduled for all 6-9th grade parents and new 10th-12th grade parents. Conference times will be emailed home on October 17.
Questions? Contact Kelly Rettenmier at krettenmier@seattleacademy.org.

Donor Appreciation Dinner -
October  27, 2016 (RSVP DEADLINE EXTENDED! – October 18)
Members of the SAAS community who make their 2016-2017 Annual Fund gift or pledge of any amount by October 18, 2016 (new deadline!) are invited to attend our Donor Appreciation Dinner. This informal gathering celebrates Seattle Academy’s donors and their support of our school’s curricular innovations and exceptional programs. There will be a brief program and a light supper. Learn more here.
RSVP Here
Donate Now

Questions? Contact Anne-Marie Guerrero at amguerrero@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Open House for Prospective Families
October 29, 2016
10 AM, Gymnasium (1111 13th Avenue)
Questions? Contact Linda Spangler at lspangler@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Open House for Prospective Families
October 29, 2016
2 PM, Gymnasium (1111 13th Avenue)
Questions? Contact Linda Spangler at lspangler@seattleacademy.org.

6th Grade - LATE START
October 31, 2016
10 AM – Students report directly to the Chapel. Drop off on 16th Avenue.
Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons, Middle School Dean of Students, at clyons@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Musical: The Wedding Singer
November 2-5, 2016
7 PM, Arts Center CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE TICKETS
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

PARENT ASSOCIATION EVENTS

Fall Parent Peer Group Discussions - all Parent Peer Groups will meet in the Vanderbilt Building. Socials begin at 6:30 PM followed by the discussions at 7 PM.
Question about Parent Peer Groups can be directed to Megan Aukema at megan@aukemaassociates.com.

Fall Parent Social Events PLEASE NOTE: On-campus parking is assigned from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.

  • October 17: 7th Grade Parent Coffee, 8:15-9:30 AM, 12th Avenue Conference Room (on 12th between the Vanderbilt Building and the Arts Center). Special Guest: Julia Kassissieh, Co-Head of Middle School. Questions? Contact Meg Crager at megcrager@comcast.net.
  • October 20: 8th Grade Parent Coffee, 8:15-9:30 AM, Eltana’s (1538 12th Avenue). Special Guest: Julia Kassissieh, Co-Head of Middle School. Questions? Contact Tamar Boden at tamar_boden@hotmail.com.
  • October 20: 12th Grade Parent Coffee, 8:15 – 9 :30 AM, Tully’s Coffee (19th and Aloha). Questions? Contact Karen Woo at karen.woo@comcast.net.
  • October 21: 6th Grade Parent Coffee, 8:15 AM, Metier Coffee (1017 E Union). Questions? Contact Nikki Lundin at nikki.lundin@comcast.net.
  • November 3: 11th Grade Brown Bag Lunch, Noon – 1:30 PM, 12th Avenue Conference Room (on 12th between the Vanderbilt Building and the Arts Center). Special Guest: 11th Grade Coordinators. Questions? Contact Hallidie Haid at hallidie.haid@gmail.com.
  • November 3: 12th Grade Parent Social, 5:30-8 PM, The Garage (1130 Broadway). Questions? Contact Karen Woo at karen.woo@comcast.net.
  • November 16: 12th Grade Parent Coffee, 8:15-9:30 AM, 12th Avenue Conference Room (on 12th between the Vanderbilt Building and the Arts Center). Special Guest: Stacie Cone, 12th Grade Coordinator. Questions? Contact Karen Woo at karen.woo@comcast.net.
  • December 1: 9th Grade Parent Coffee, 8:15-9:30 AM, Rhein Haus (912 12th Avenue). Questions? Contact Suzanne Shaw at suzanne_dennehy@hotmail.com.
  • December 1: 11th Grade Parent Coffee, 8:15 – 9 :30 AM, Mighty O Donuts (12th and Madison). Questions? Contact Hallidie Haid at hallidie.haid@gmail.com.

RECENT ARTICLES