October 6

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director, at 206-676-6858 or shanrahan@seattleacademy.org. CAMPUS MAP

Friday Email
October 6, 2017

1

REMINDERS!

SIGN UPS

ANNOUNCEMENTS

2017-18 Trip Offerings Announced!
CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFORMATION

October 12: Middle School Trip Night, STREAM Building
6 PM: 6th Grade Alaska, 7th/8th Grade Yukon
October 19: Upper School Trip Night, STREAM Building
6 PM: China, Vietnam, White Clouds, and North Cascades
7 PM: Costa Rica, Zambia, New Orleans
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison at eaitchinson@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Students – Interested in Learning to Play Bridge?
We are working with American Contract Bridge League to bring an after school Bridge Club to SAAS. Volunteers have made a couple of lunch time visits to school to show kids how fun and engaging the game can be! The club will be starting on Thursday, October 12, in the Middle School and runs from 3:15 to 4:30 PM. The students in the club would be able to transition into After-School Study Hall at 4:30. There is no charge for this program.
Look for a sign up in next Friday’s weekly email. In the meantime, please contact Caitlin Lyons, clyons@seattleacademy.org, with any questions.

Reporting Absences, Late Arrivals, and Early Dismissals
Middle School: msattendance@seattleacademy.org
Upper School: usattendance@seattleacademy.org

UPCOMING EVENTS

SAAS Open House for Prospective Families
October 7, 2017
10 AM – 12:30 PM:  Middle School
2 – 4:30 PM:  Upper School
Gymnasium (1111 13th Avenue)
Parking available in the Seattle University Broadway Garage (located on Broadway between Columbia and Marion).

Questions? Contact Dawn Fornear at dfornear@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Trip Night
October 12, 2017 MORE DETAILS
6 PM, STREAM Building
6th Grade Alaska and 7th/8th Grade Yukon Trip
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison at eaitchison@seattleacademy.org.

Fall Mid-Term – NO CLASSES
October 13, 2017
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

10th and 11th Grade PSAT Testing
October 14, 2017
8 AM, Gym
CLICK HERE for more details. 
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

8th Grade Parent Meeting
CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS
October 17, 2017
6:30 PM: Social
7:00 PM: Meeting
STREAM Building (1220 E Spring St.)
Parking available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.

Questions? Contact Lauri Conner at lconner@seattleacademy.org.

7th Grade Retreat
October 19-20, 2017
Fort Worden (Port Townsend, WA)

More details to come.
Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons at clyons@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Trip Night
October 19, 2017 MORE DETAILS
STREAM Building
6 PM: China, Vietnam, White Clouds, and North Cascades
7 PM: Costa Rica, Zambia, New Orleans
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison at eaitchison@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School GSA Social
October 20, 2017
5-8 PM, Evergreen School
Students will play games, hear from student speakers, and participate in discussions around how to create safer spaces in our school communities for all students, especially those who identify as LGBTQ or questioning.  Dinner will be provided. All who plan to attend should fill out this form AND email Lewis Maday-Travis (ltravis@seattleacademy.org) to let us know you are coming and whether or not you need transportation to and from the event!
Questions? Contact Lewis Maday-Travis at ltravis@seattleacademy.org.

9th Grade Social
October 20, 2017
7-10 PM, Gym
All 9th graders are invited to attend the “Freshman Function,” a fun Halloween-themed event which will include lasertag, dodge ball, video games, a photo booth, prizes, and food! Costumes are optional.
Lasertag Waiver – students must have a waiver on file to play lasertag. Please return completed forms to Freddy Carley.
Questions? Contact Freddy Carley at fcarley@seattleacademy.org.

6th Grade SEE Trip Gear Check
October 25, 2017
Students should bring their gear with them to school
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons at clyons@seattleacademy.org.

Parent-Teacher Conferences – NO CLASSES
October 26-27, 2017
Parents will be emailed specific conference details (time and location) on October 17. 
To schedule a conference or ask questions, contact Kelley Rettenmier at krettenmier@seattleacademy.org.

PARENT EVENTS

8th Grade Parent Coffee
October 9, 2017
8:15 – 9:30 AM, SAAS 12th Avenue Conference Room (on 12th between the Arts Center and Vanderbilt)
Please Note: On-campus parking is reserved from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.

Our guest speakers will be Jen Nelson, SAAS Middle School Counselor, and one of the Upper School Counselors, TBD.
Also, if you are interested in attending future parent coffees, we would like your input.  Please complete the very brief survey here: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/RCKJFDQ
Questions? Contact Meg Crager, megcrager@comcast.net or Sherri Wolson, sherriwolson@gmail.com.

6th and 7th Grade Parent Peer Group Discussion
October 9, 2017
6:30 PM: Social
7 PM: Discussion (by grade)
CLICK HERE for more details.
Questions? Contact Kathy Risse at ppgsaas@gmail.com.

12th Grade Parent Coffee
October 12, 2017
8:30 AM, Cafe Presse (on 12th across from the Arts Center)
Please Note: On-campus parking is reserved from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.

We hope you can join us for the first parent coffee of the year. We would love to get together to celebrate the beginning of our teens’ senior year.
Questions? Please contact Gina Gonchar at ginagonchar@gmail.com.

10th – 12th Grade Parent Peer Group Discussion
October 16, 2017
6:30 PM: Social
7 PM: Discussion (by grade)
CLICK HERE for more details.
Questions? Contact Kathy Risse at ppgsaas@gmail.com.

9th Grade Parent Social
October 20, 2017
7-10 PM, Optimism Brewing Company (1158 Broadway)
Parking is available in the SAAS 14th Avenue Parking lot (corner of 14th and E Columbia).

We will provide light appetizers and the first round of drinks is on us (unless we get a staggering turn out in which case we may run out of free drink tickets:)). There are food trucks in their parking lot who sell great food.
Questions? Contact Tamar Boden at tamar_boden@hotmail.com.

8th and 9th Grade Parent Peer Group Discussion
October 23, 2017
6:30 PM: Social
7 PM: Discussion (by grade)
CLICK HERE for more details.
Questions? Contact Kathy Risse at ppgsaas@gmail.com.

RECENT ARTICLES

Happy Birthday, Seattle Academy!
French Students Visit SAAS
Seattle Academy Offers Open House for Prospective Families
2017-18 School Year Hits the Ground Running!
Seattle Academy Director of College Advising Appointed to National Training Institute

SOCIAL MEDIA CHANNELS

Facebook:
Seattle Academy https://www.facebook.com/seattleacademy
Seattle Academy Cardinals (Athletics) https://www.facebook.com/SAASCardinals

Twitter:
@SeattleAcademy https://twitter.com/SeattleAcademy
@SAASCardinals (Athletics) https://twitter.com/SAASCardinals
@SAASGrad https://twitter.com/SAASGrad

YouTube: Seattle Academy Videos https://www.youtube.com/SeattleAcademyVideos
SmugMug: Saasphotogallery http://saasphotogallery.smugmug.com/

If you have any questions about our social media program, please contact Andrew Spitzer at aspitzer@seattleacademy.org.