October 21

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director.

Friday Email
October 21, 2016

Freshman Function Poster 2016 2

REMINDERS

Middle School After-School Sign Up
Please sign up for next week’s After-School Study HallMonday Art Club, and Friday Maker Club using this link: CLICK HERE FOR THE SIGN UP PAGE. Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons, Middle School Dean of Students, atclyons@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Water Bottles
Beginning on Monday, October 24, paper cups for water will no longer be available for students in the Middle School Front Office. Students should plan to bring water bottles instead. Questions? Contact Rae Robertson at rrobertson@seattleacademy.org.

UPCOMING EVENTS

Freshman Function 2016
October 21, 2016
7-9 PM, Gym
All freshman are invited to attend this social which will include laser tag, dodge ball, and art. Dinner will be provided!
Questions? Contact Freddy Carley at fcarley@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Fall Dance
October 22, 2016
8 – 10 PM, Gym
Questions? Contact Makenzie Brandon at mbrandon@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Accommodations Meeting
October 25, 2016
7 PM, STREAM Building
This meeting is good for 8th grade parents to attend as well as Upper School parents.
Questions? Contact Christine Davis-Goff at cdavisgoff@seattleacademy.org.

6th Grade SEE Trip Gear Check
October 26, 2016
Students should bring all their gear to school this day. Gear will remain at school until students leave for the SEE Trip on November 2.
Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons, Middle School Dean of Students, at clyons@seattleacademy.org.

Parent-Teacher Conferences - NO CLASSES
October 27-28, 2016
Conferences are scheduled for all 6-9th grade parents and new 10th-12th grade parents.
Questions? Contact Kelly Rettenmier at krettenmier@seattleacademy.org.

Donor Appreciation Dinner
October  27, 2016
This informal gathering celebrates Seattle Academy’s donors and their support of our school’s curricular innovations and exceptional programs. There will be a brief program and a light supper.
Questions? Contact Anne-Marie Guerrero at amguerrero@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Open House for Prospective Families
October 29, 2016
10 AM, Gymnasium (1111 13th Avenue)
Questions? Contact Linda Spangler at lspangler@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Open House for Prospective Families
October 29, 2016
2 PM, Gymnasium (1111 13th Avenue)
Questions? Contact Linda Spangler at lspangler@seattleacademy.org.

6th Grade - LATE START
October 31, 2016
10 AM – Students report directly to the Chapel. Drop off on 16th Avenue.
Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons, Middle School Dean of Students, at clyons@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Musical: The Wedding Singer
November 2-5, 2016
7 PM, Arts Center CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE TICKETS
Questions? Contact Nicole Hughes at nhughes@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Lacrosse Clinic – Open to Boys and Girls
November 5, 2016
10 AM – Noon, SAAS Gym
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Open House for Prospective Families
November 10, 2016
6:30PM, Gymnasium (1111 13th Avenue)
Questions? Contact Linda Spangler at lspangler@seattleacademy.org.

Veterans’ Day - NO CLASSES
November 11, 2016
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Lacrosse Clinic – Open to Boys and Girls
November 12, 2016
10 AM – Noon, SAAS Gym
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

PARENT ASSOCIATION EVENTS

Fall Parent Peer Group Discussions - all Parent Peer Groups will meet in the Vanderbilt Building. Socials begin at 6:30 PM followed by the discussions at 7 PM.
Question about Parent Peer Groups can be directed to Megan Aukema at megan@aukemaassociates.com.

Fall Parent Social Events PLEASE NOTE: On-campus parking is assigned from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.

  • October 25: 10th Grade Parent Coffee, 8:15-9:30 AM, Cupcake Royale (1111 E Pike St.).  Questions? Contact Jocelyn Isaacs at jocelyn999@hotmail.com or Peggy Rinne at peggy@rinne.com.
  • November 3: 11th Grade Brown Bag Lunch, Noon – 1:30 PM, 12th Avenue Conference Room (on 12th between the Vanderbilt Building and the Arts Center). Special Guest: 11th Grade Coordinators. Questions? Contact Hallidie Haid at hallidie.haid@gmail.com.
  • November 3: 12th Grade Parent Social, 5:30-8 PM, The Garage (1130 Broadway). Questions? Contact Karen Woo at karen.woo@comcast.net.
  • November 16: 12th Grade Parent Coffee, 8:15-9:30 AM, 12th Avenue Conference Room (on 12th between the Vanderbilt Building and the Arts Center). Special Guest: Stacie Cone, 12th Grade Coordinator. Questions? Contact Karen Woo at karen.woo@comcast.net.
  • November 16: 6th Grade Parent Social, 6-9 PM, Optimism Brewing  (1158 Broadway). No host bar and Rainy Brothers BBQ Food Truck. Parents can also bring their own food. Questions? Contact Nikki Lundin at nikki.lundin@comcast.net.
  • December 1: 9th Grade Parent Coffee, 8:15-9:30 AM, Rhein Haus (912 12th Avenue). Questions? Contact Suzanne Shaw at suzanne_dennehy@hotmail.com.
  • December 1: 11th Grade Parent Coffee, 8:15 – 9 :30 AM, Mighty O Donuts (12th and Madison). Questions? Contact Hallidie Haid at hallidie.haid@gmail.com.
  • December 2: 10th Grade Brown Bag Lunch, Noon – 1:30 PM, 12th Avenue Conference Room (on 12th between the Vanderbilt Building and the Arts Center). Special Guest: To Be Announced. Questions? Contact Jocelyn Isaacs at jocelyn999@hotmail.com or Peggy Rinne at peggy@rinne.com.

RECENT ARTICLES