September 1

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director. CAMPUS MAP

Friday Email
September 1, 2017

september

Below are links to important information regarding the upcoming school year. Please review the information and return all appropriate forms. If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director, at 206-676-6858 or shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

REMINDERS! – ACTION ITEMS

Click on the links below to place orders and/or sign up.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Reporting Absences, Late Arrivals, and Early Dismissals
Middle School: msattendance@seattleacademy.org
Upper School: usattendance@seattleacademy.org

Laptop Insurance
We want to remind you that the 4-year computer warranty purchased when your student gets a SAAS computer does not cover theft or loss. We would highly encourage families to consider either 1) a Personal Articles Policy through your current insurance, 2) a Stand Alone Insurance Company specific to laptops, or 3) adding the laptop to your Home Owners Policy.

One stand-alone insurance company that parents have used in the past is Worth Have Group (https://www.worthavegroup.com/product/laptop-insurance/). For about $50 per year they cover theft protection, for example. There are likely many other options out there worth considering.

Questions? Contact Nick Lew at nlew@seattleacademy.org.

UPCOMING EVENTS

Labor Day - NO CLASSES
September 4, 2017
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Classes Resume
For ALL Students

September 5, 2017
8:15 AM – 3 PM
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Learning Support Parent Meeting
September 5, 2017
3:30 PM, Upper Learning Commons, STREAM Building
Questions? Contact Megan Roberts at mroberts@seattleacademy.org.

Parent Association Fall Kick Off!
September 6, 2017
6:30 PM – Social; 7 PM – Meeting
Upper Learning Commons, STREAM Building
Come check out all the volunteer opportunities available and find out how to get active in the SAAS community.
Questions? Contact Sharon Perlin at sharonperlin@gmail.com.

Middle School Learning Support Parent Meeting
September 7, 2017
6 PM, Upper Learning Commons, STREAM Building
Questions? Contact Megan Roberts at mroberts@seattleacademy.org.

9th Grade Parent Meeting
Odyssey Gear Trip Check
For ALL 9th Grade Parents AND Students

September 11,  2017
Please Note New Start time
6:00 PM: Parent Social and Student Gear Check
6:30 PM: Meeting
Arts Center, 1100 12th Avenue
Parking available in our gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.
Questions? Contact Lauri Conner at lconner@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Back-to-School Night
September 12,  7 PM
Jaffe Room, Middle School Building
Parking available in the 16th Avenue parking lot.
Please join us for this opportunity to walk through your child’s schedule, meet his/her teachers, and receive a syllabus for all the classes.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Parent-Coaches Meetings
September 12,  End of Middle School Back-to-School Night
Jaffe Room, Middle School Building
Parking available in the 16th Avenue parking lot.
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Back-to-School Night
September 13,  7 PM
Gym (1111 13th Avenue)
Parking available in our gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.
Please join us for this opportunity to walk through your teen’s schedule, meet his/her teachers, and receive a syllabus for all the classes.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Parent-Coaches Meetings
September 13,  End of Middle School Back-to-School Night
Gym (1111 13th Avenue)
Parking available in our gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.

Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

Fall Sports Mania – SAVE THE DATE!
September 15, 3:15 – 10 PM
Starfire Sports Complex
MORE DETAILS TO COME!

Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

9th Grade Odyssey Trip
September 18-20, 2017
CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Freddy Carley at fcarley@seattleacademy.org.

10th Grade Retreat
September 19-20, 2017
Families will receive additional information next week.
Questions? Contact Makenzie Brandon at mbrandon@seattleacademy.org.

Rosh Hashanah – NO CLASSES
September 21, 2017
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Volleyball Fest
September 25, 3 – 9 PM
Gym (1100 13th Avenue)
MORE DETAILS TO COME!

Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

Parent Education Committee Presents:
Balancing the Benefits and Risks of Technology Use

September 26, 2017 CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS
6:30 PM – Social; 7 PM – Discussion
Arts Center (1100 12th Avenue)
Parking available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.

Questions? Contact Arden Hellmann at ardenhellmann@comcast.net.

Guide to College Financing
September 28, 7 PM CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS
Arts Center (1100 12th Avenue)
Parking available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.

Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

8th Grade Retreat
September 28-29, 2017
More details to come.
Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons at clyons@seattleacademy.org.

RECENT ARTICLES

SAAS Parent Working to Achieve Zero Youth Detention in Seattle
Seattle Academy Opens Our Fall Sports Season
Amon-Lucas ‘22 Takes Third Places in Swim Competition