September 15

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director, at 206-676-6858 or shanrahan@seattleacademy.org. CAMPUS MAP

Friday Email
September 15, 2017

Fall Mania 17

REMINDERS!

ACTION ITEMS – FORMS DUE
10th Grade Retreat Permission Form, Due September 8

SIGN UPS

ANNOUNCEMENTS

New Trip Announcement – Roman Britain
Dates: February 14-23, 2018
Itinerary: London, Bath, York, and Edinburgh
Grade Level: Open to all 7th-12th Grade Students
Cost: $4,830 – $5,030
MORE DETAILS
If you are interested in this trip, please plan to attend the trip meeting on Friday, September 22, at 6 PM in the STREAM Building.
Questions? Contact Elin Rummel (erummel@seattleacademy.org) or Meredith Hale (mhale@seattleacademy.org).

Upper School Study Hall
What: Drop in homework support
When: Monday – Thursday, 3:00-4:30 PM
Where: VBC5 (upstairs Vanderbilt across from S2)
Who: Any Upper School student
Questions? Contact Aeva Wilkes at awilkes@seattleacademy.org.

Reporting Absences, Late Arrivals, and Early Dismissals
Middle School: msattendance@seattleacademy.org
Upper School: usattendance@seattleacademy.org

UPCOMING EVENTS

Fall Sports Mania – GO CARDINALS!
CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS

September 15, 3:15 – 10 PM
Starfire Sports Complex
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

9th Grade Odyssey Trip
CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS

September 18-20, 2017
Questions? Contact Freddy Carley at fcarley@seattleacademy.org.

10th Grade Retreat
September 19-20, 2017
Families will receive additional information next week.
Questions? Contact Makenzie Brandon at mbrandon@seattleacademy.org.

Rosh Hashanah – NO CLASSES
September 21, 2017
No parking in the 16th Avenue lot beginning at 5 PM on September 20.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Volleyball Fest
September 25, 3 – 9 PM
Gym (1100 13th Avenue)
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

Parent Education Committee Presents:
Balancing the Benefits and Risks of Technology Use
CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS

September 26, 2017
6:30 PM – Social; 7 PM – Discussion
Arts Center (1100 12th Avenue)
Parking available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.

Questions? Contact Arden Hellmann at ardenhellmann@comcast.net.
CLICK HERE TO RSVP

Guide to College Financing
CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS

September 28, 7 PM
Arts Center (1100 12th Avenue)
Parking available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.

Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

8th Grade Retreat
September 28: Drop off at regular time and location.
September 29:
3:30 PM to 16thAvenue. If we are delayed by traffic, an email will be sent to families with an adjusted return time.
Fort Worden, Port Townsend

GEAR
: Sleeping bag and pillow, raingear, warm jacket, change of clothes, toiletries, water bottle, good walking shoes and clothing for being active outdoors
FOOD:
Sack lunch and snacks for Thursday, September 28
MEDICATIONS
: Please contact Hilary Bowen by September 25 for more details.
Questions? Contact Hilary Bowen at hbowen@seattleacademy.org.

Yom Kipper
September 30, 2017
No parking in the 16th Avenue lot beginning at 5 PM on September 29.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

11th Grade Parent Meeting
CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS
October 3, 2017
6:30 PM: Social
7:00 PM: Meeting
Arts Center (1100 12th Avenue)
Parking available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.

Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

10th Grade Parent Meeting
CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS
October 4, 2017
6:30 PM: Social
7:00 PM: Meeting
Arts Center (1100 12th Avenue)
Parking available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.

Questions? Contact Lauri Conner at lconner@seattleacademy.org.

12th Grade Parent Meeting
CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS

October 5, 2017
6:30 PM: Social
7:00 PM: Meeting
Arts Center (1100 12th Avenue)
Parking available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.

Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

Outdoor Trip and Travel Program 2017-18 Announced
October 6, 2017
We will announce the trip and travel programs available for the 2017-18 school year on this date.
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison at eaitchison@seattleacademy.org.

SAAS Open House for Prospective Families
October 7, 2017
10 AM – 12:30 PM:  Middle School
2 – 4:30 PM:  Upper School
Gymnasium (1111 13th Avenue)
Parking available in the Seattle University Broadway Garage (located on Broadway between Columbia and Marion).

Questions? Contact Dawn Fornear at dfornear@seattleacademy.org.

RECENT ARTICLES

Willows ‘18 Exhibiting at Mini Maker’s Faire for Fourth Straight Year
Schimmel ‘18 to Appear on National Geographic Wild
Finke ‘08 Named Finalist in National Geographic Chasing Genius Challenge
Gonchar ‘21 Artwork Selected for Promotional Campaign

SOCIAL MEDIA CHANNELS

Facebook:
Seattle Academy https://www.facebook.com/seattleacademy
Seattle Academy Cardinals (Athletics) https://www.facebook.com/SAASCardinals

Twitter:
@SeattleAcademy https://twitter.com/SeattleAcademy
@SAASCardinals (Athletics) https://twitter.com/SAASCardinals
@SAASGrad https://twitter.com/SAASGrad

YouTube: Seattle Academy Videos https://www.youtube.com/SeattleAcademyVideos
SmugMug: Saasphotogallery http://saasphotogallery.smugmug.com/

If you have any questions about our social media program, please contact Andrew Spitzer at aspitzer@seattleacademy.org.