September 23

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director.

Friday Email
September 23, 2016 Fall Sports Mania 2016

REMINDERS

Middle School Parents - Please Read
In order to be more responsive to the fluid schedules of students and families, we are changing our After-School Study Hall sign up process. Everyone who signed up over the summer will still be accommodated, but we’d still like you to utilize our new process. Each week, the Friday email will include a link where you can sign your student up for After-School Study Hall days for the following week.

In this link we’d also like you to sign-up for Monday Art Club and Friday Maker Club on a weekly basis.  You can use the link to make changes throughout the week.

CLICK HERE FOR THE SIGN UP PAGE.

Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons, Middle School Dean of Students, at clyons@seattleacademy.org.

Morning and Afternoon Shuttle Bus Information
You can still sign up for the North End, Eastside, or South/West before and after school shuttle buses.
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Loyal Hanrahan at lhanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

UPCOMING EVENTS

Fall Sports Mania
September 23, 2016
3:00 PM, Starfire Sports Complex (Tukwila)
Join us for this community-wide sporting event which honors all of our fall athletes.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Team Field Opponent Start
Boys’ CYO Soccer 1 University Prep 3:00 PM
Girls’ Black Soccer 3 University Prep 3:00 PM
Boys’ Black Soccer 4 University Prep 3:00 PM
Boys’ JV Ultimate Grey 2 Northwest 3:45 PM
Boys’ JV Ultimate Black 2 Overlake 3:45 PM
Boys’ Red Soccer 1 University Prep 4:15 PM
Boys’ Grey Soccer 3 University Prep 4:15 PM
Girls’ JV Black Soccer 4 Holy Names 4:30 PM
Girls’ Red Soccer 1 University Prep 5:30 PM
Boys’ Varsity Ultimate 2 Overlake 5:30 PM
Girls’ JV Soccer 3 Holy Names 5:30 PM
Girls’ Varsity Soccer 1 Holy Names 7:00 PM

Volleyball Fest
September 26, 2016
3:00 – 9:00 PM, Seattle Academy Gym
Come catch all of our volleyball teams in action! See the sports calendars for more details.
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

Guide to College Financing
September 27, 2016
6:00 PM, Arts Center
Join Bryan Gould, Associate Director for Student Financial Services at the University of Puget Sound. This comprehensive review of how financial aid and scholarships are awarded is open to and appropriate to all Upper School families. It is offered each fall.
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

Parent Education Committee Presents: One More Thing…Changing Up Conversations to Stay Connected with Julie Metzger
September 27, 2016
6:45 PM – Social, 7:15 PM – Presentation
Arts Center
CLICK HERE to RSVP.
Conversations are the building blocks within a family to share ideas, sharpen our edges, build trust, problem solve, gather information, and share our stories. Family communication can be intense and heated or spoken in whispers; they can last seconds or days and end with a slammed door, a sigh, or a hug. Each one shapes part ofwho we are as a family and as individuals. Julie will give SAAS parents an opportunity to consider strategies to stengthen family communications.
Questions? Contact Arden Hellmann, Parent Education Committee Chair, at ardenhellmann@comcast.net.

9th Grade Odyssey Trip
September 28-30, 2016
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Freddy Carley at fcarley@seattleacademy.org.

10th Grade Retreat
September 28-30, 2016
Location: Miracle Ranch (12500 Camp Ct. NW, Poulsbo, 253-851-4410)
Depart at 8:15 AM on September 28
Return by 3 PM on September 30
Packing List: sack lunch for Wednesday, sleeping bag/pillow, closed toe shoes for a service project, comfortable clothing, toiletries
Questions? Contact Dionna Kirton at dkirton@seattleacademy.org or Martin Brakke at mbrakke@seattleacademy.org.

Rosh Hashanah - NO CLASSES
October 3, 2016
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

11th Grade Parent Meeting
October 4, 2016
6:30 PM – Social, 7:00 PM – Presentation
Arts Center
This meeting is devoted to College Advising and the application process.
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

10th Grade Parent Meeting
October 5, 2016
6:30 PM – Social, 7:00 PM – Presentation
Arts Center
This meeting is discusses the social and emotional stages of this age group.
Questions? Contact Lauri Conner at lconner@seattleacademy.org.

12th Grade Parent Meeting
October 6, 2016
6:30 PM – Social, 7:00 PM – Presentation
Arts Center
This meeting will discuss the final push of college application and what happens after applications are complete.
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

“The After” A Poetry Reading with Melinda Mueller
October 8, 2016
7:30 PM, STREAM Buidling
Please join us as we celebrate the publication of “The After,” the first book by Seattle poet, Melinda Mueller, since her award winning “What the Ice Gets.” This book is a single poem “sorrowing the world” we will alter and leave unseen. A meditation on extinction and the anthropocene, it blends science and poetry with the urgency of heartbreak.
Questions? Contact Melinda Mueller at mmueller@seattleacademy.org.

Yom Kippur - NO CLASSES
October 12, 2016
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Open House for Prospective Families
October 13, 2016
6:30 PM, Gymnasium (1111 13th Avenue)
Questions? Contact Linda Spangler at lspangler@seattleacademy.org.

Donor Appreciation Dinner - RSVP DEADLINE!
October  14, 2016
Members of the SAAS community who make their 2016-2017 Annual Fund gift or pledge of any amount by October 14, 2016 are invited to attend our Donor Appreciation Dinner which will be held on October 27. This informal gathering celebrates Seattle Academy’s donors and their support of our school’s curricular innovations and exceptional programs. There will be a brief program and a light supper prepared by Tom Douglas Catering. Learn more here.
RSVP Here
Donate Now

Questions? Contact Anne-Marie Guerrero at amguerrero@seattleacademy.org.

Fall Trimester Mid Term - NO CLASSES
October 14, 2016
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

PSAT Testing for 10th and 11th Grade
October 15, 2016
8:00 AM – Noon, Gym
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

PARENT ASSOCIATION EVENTS

9th Grade Parent Social
September 29, 2016
6-8 PM, STREAM Building
Parking is available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot (corner of 14th and E Columbia).
Questions? Contact Juli Sanchez at julisanchez@msn.com.

6th and 7th Grade Parent Peer Group Discussion
October 10, 2016
6:30 PM Social, 7:00 PM Discussion
Vanderbilt Building
CLICK HERE TO RSVP
Questions? Contact Megan Aukema at megan@aukemaassociates.com.

RECENT ARTICLES

Sferra Olsen Farm to Hold Annual Pumpkin Harvest This Weekend
Macklin ’18 Provides Feedback to Amazon Executives
Grey ’17 Tries Out with Under 18 USA Soccer Team