September 29

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director, at 206-676-6858 or shanrahan@seattleacademy.org. CAMPUS MAP

Friday Email
September 29, 2017

fallmeetingscropped

All meetings will be held in the Arts Center. They start with a 6:30 Social followed by a 7 PM meeting.

REMINDERS!

SIGN UPS

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Volunteer Opportunity for Students and Families
October 20, 2017
PCC Farmland Trust, Tacoma
CLICK HERE FOR DETAILS
Questions? Contact Rick DuPree at rdupree@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Students – Interested in Learning to Play Bridge?
We are working with American Contract Bridge League to bring an after school Bridge Club to SAAS. Volunteers have made a couple of lunch time visits to school to show kids how fun and engaging the game can be! The club will be starting on Thursday, October 12, in the Middle School and runs from 3:15 to 4:30 PM. The students in the club would be able to transition into After-School Study Hall at 4:30. There is no charge for this program.
Look for a sign up in next Friday’s weekly email. In the meantime, please contact Caitlin Lyons, clyons@seattleacademy.org, with any questions.

Reporting Absences, Late Arrivals, and Early Dismissals
Middle School: msattendance@seattleacademy.org
Upper School: usattendance@seattleacademy.org

UPCOMING EVENTS

8th Grade Retreat
September 28: Drop off at regular time and location.
September 29:
3:30 PM to 16thAvenue. If we are delayed by traffic, an email will be sent to families with an adjusted return time.
Fort Worden, Port Townsend

GEAR
: Sleeping bag and pillow, raingear, warm jacket, change of clothes, toiletries, water bottle, good walking shoes and clothing for being active outdoors
FOOD:
Sack lunch and snacks for Thursday, September 28
MEDICATIONS
: Please contact Hilary Bowen by September 25 for more details.
Questions? Contact Hilary Bowen at hbowen@seattleacademy.org.

Yom Kippur
September 30, 2017
No parking in the 16th Avenue lot beginning at 5 PM on Friday, September 29.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

11th Grade Parent Meeting
CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS
October 3, 2017
6:30 PM: Social
7:00 PM: Meeting
Arts Center (1100 12th Avenue)
Parking available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.

Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

10th Grade Parent Meeting
CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS
October 4, 2017
6:30 PM: Social
7:00 PM: Meeting
Arts Center (1100 12th Avenue)
Parking available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.

Questions? Contact Lauri Conner at lconner@seattleacademy.org.

12th Grade Parent Meeting
CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS

October 5, 2017
6:30 PM: Social
7:00 PM: Meeting
Arts Center (1100 12th Avenue)
Parking available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.

Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

Outdoor Trip and Travel Program 2017-18 Announced
October 6, 2017
We will announce via email the trip and travel programs available for the 2017-18 school year on this date.
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison at eaitchison@seattleacademy.org.

SAAS Open House for Prospective Families
October 7, 2017
10 AM – 12:30 PM:  Middle School
2 – 4:30 PM:  Upper School
Gymnasium (1111 13th Avenue)
Parking available in the Seattle University Broadway Garage (located on Broadway between Columbia and Marion).

Questions? Contact Dawn Fornear at dfornear@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Trip Night
October 12, 2017
6 PM, STREAM Building
More details to come. 
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison at eaitchison@seattleacademy.org.

Fall Mid-Term – NO CLASSES
October 13, 2017
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

10th and 11th Grade PSAT Testing
October 14, 2017
8 AM, Gym
CLICK HERE for more details. 
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

8th Grade Parent Meeting
CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS
October 17, 2017
6:30 PM: Social
7:00 PM: Meeting
STREAM Building (1220 E Spring St.)
Parking available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.

Questions? Contact Lauri Conner at lconner@seattleacademy.org.

7th Grade Retreat
October 19-20, 2017
Fort Worden (Port Townsend, WA)

More details to come.
Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons at clyons@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Trip Night
October 19, 2017
6 PM, STREAM Building
More details to come. 
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison at eaitchison@seattleacademy.org.

9th Grade Social
October 20, 2017
7-10 PM, Gym
More details to come. 
Questions? Contact Freddy Carley at fcarley@seattleacademy.org.

PARENT EVENTS

7th Grade Parent Coffee
October 3, 2017
8:30 – 10 AM, Cafe Presse (on 12th across from the Arts Center)
Please Note: On-campus parking is reserved from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.
We hope you can join us for the first 7th grade parent coffee of the school year. Buy your drink at the counter and join the group in the back room

To RSVP or ask questions, contact Hwashing Heyworth at hwashing16@yahoo.com.

8th Grade Parent Coffee
October 9, 2017
8:15 – 9:30 AM, SAAS 12th Avenue Conference Room (on 12th between the Arts Center and Vanderbilt)
Please Note: On-campus parking is reserved from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.

Our guest speakers will be Jen Nelson, SAAS Middle School Counselor, and one of the Upper School Counselors, TBD.
Also, if you are interested in attending future parent coffees, we would like your input.  Please complete the very brief survey here: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/RCKJFDQ
Questions? Contact Meg Crager, megcrager@comcast.net or Sherri Wolson, sherriwolson@gmail.com.

6th and 7th Grade Parent Peer Group Discussion
October 9, 2017
6:30 PM: Social
7 PM: Discussion (by grade)
CLICK HERE for more details.
Questions? Contact Kathy Risse at ppgsaas@gmail.com.

12th Grade Parent Coffee
October 12, 2017
8:30 AM, Cafe Presse (on 12th across from the Arts Center)
Please Note: On-campus parking is reserved from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.

We hope you can join us for the first parent coffee of the year. We would love to get together to celebrate the beginning of our teens’ senior year.
Questions? Please contact Gina Gonchar at ginagonchar@gmail.com.

10th – 12th Grade Parent Peer Group Discussion
October 23, 2017
6:30 PM: Social
7 PM: Discussion (by grade)
CLICK HERE for more details.
Questions? Contact Kathy Risse at ppgsaas@gmail.com.

8th and 9th Grade Parent Peer Group Discussion
October 23, 2017
6:30 PM: Social
7 PM: Discussion (by grade)
CLICK HERE for more details.
Questions? Contact Kathy Risse at ppgsaas@gmail.com.

RECENT ARTICLES

2017 SAAS Fall Mania, Volleyball Fest: A Time for Celebration
Finley ‘12 Circumnavigates the Planet
Poll ‘19 Opens for Kuinka

SOCIAL MEDIA CHANNELS

Facebook:
Seattle Academy https://www.facebook.com/seattleacademy
Seattle Academy Cardinals (Athletics) https://www.facebook.com/SAASCardinals

Twitter:
@SeattleAcademy https://twitter.com/SeattleAcademy
@SAASCardinals (Athletics) https://twitter.com/SAASCardinals
@SAASGrad https://twitter.com/SAASGrad

YouTube: Seattle Academy Videos https://www.youtube.com/SeattleAcademyVideos
SmugMug: Saasphotogallery http://saasphotogallery.smugmug.com/

If you have any questions about our social media program, please contact Andrew Spitzer at aspitzer@seattleacademy.org.