September 30

October 20: 12th Grade Parent Coffee, 8:15 – 9 :30 AM, Tully’s Coffee (19th and Aloha). Questions? Contact Karen Woo at karen.woo@comcast.net.

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director.

Friday Email
September 30, 2016

09.30.16 FridayEmail Image

REMINDERS

Middle School After-School Sign Up
Please sign up for next week’s After-School Study Hall, Monday Art Club, and Friday Maker Club using this link: CLICK HERE FOR THE SIGN UP PAGE. Questions? Contact Caitlin Lyons, Middle School Dean of Students, at clyons@seattleacademy.org.

Donor Appreciation Dinner
Make a gift or pledge of any amount by October 14 and join us for the Donor Appreciation Dinner!  Already made your Annual Fund gift or pledge?  Thank you! Please follow the same RSVP link to reserve your two complimentary tickets.  We hope to see you there!
Questions? Contact Anne-Marie Guerrero, Annual Fund Director, at amguerrero@seattleacademy.org.

UPCOMING EVENTS

Rosh Hashanah - NO CLASSES
October 3, 2016
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

11th Grade Parent Meeting
October 4, 2016
6:30 PM – Social, 7:00 PM – Presentation
Arts Center
This meeting is devoted to College Advising and the application process.
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

10th Grade Parent Meeting
October 5, 2016
6:30 PM – Social, 7:00 PM – Presentation
Arts Center
This meeting is discusses the social and emotional stages of this age group.
Questions? Contact Lauri Conner at lconner@seattleacademy.org.

12th Grade Parent Meeting
October 6, 2016
6:30 PM – Social, 7:00 PM – Presentation
Arts Center
This meeting will discuss the final push of college application and what happens after applications are complete.
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

“The After” A Poetry Reading with Melinda Mueller
October 8, 2016
7:30 PM, STREAM Buidling
Please join us as we celebrate the publication of “The After,” the first book by Seattle poet, Melinda Mueller, since her award winning “What the Ice Gets.” This book is a single poem “sorrowing the world” we will alter and leave unseen. A meditation on extinction and the anthropocene, it blends science and poetry with the urgency of heartbreak.
Questions? Contact Melinda Mueller at mmueller@seattleacademy.org.

Yom Kippur - NO CLASSES
October 12, 2016
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Open House for Prospective Families
October 13, 2016
6:30 PM, Gymnasium (1111 13th Avenue)
Questions? Contact Linda Spangler at lspangler@seattleacademy.org.

Donor Appreciation Dinner - RSVP DEADLINE!
October  14, 2016
Members of the SAAS community who make their 2016-2017 Annual Fund gift or pledge of any amount by October 14, 2016 are invited to attend our Donor Appreciation Dinner which will be held on October 27. This informal gathering celebrates Seattle Academy’s donors and their support of our school’s curricular innovations and exceptional programs. There will be a brief program and a light supper. Learn more here.
RSVP Here
Donate Now

Questions? Contact Anne-Marie Guerrero at amguerrero@seattleacademy.org.

Fall Trimester Mid Term - NO CLASSES
October 14, 2016
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

PSAT Testing for 10th and 11th Grade
October 15, 2016
8:00 AM – Noon, Gym
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Accommodations Meeting
October 17, 2016
7 PM, STREAM Building
Questions? Contact Christine Davis-Goff at cdavisgoff@seattleacademy.org.

8th Grade Parent Meeting
October 18, 2016
6:30 – Social, 7 PM – Presentation
STREAM Building
Questions? Contact Nick Creach at ncreach@seattleacademy.org or Julia Kassissieh at jkassissieh@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Trip Night
October 19, 2016
6 PM, STREAM Building
Our 2016-17 trip offerings will be announced soon!
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison at eaitchison@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Trip Night
October 20, 2016
6 PM, STREAM Building
Our 2016-17 trip offerings will be announced soon!
Questions? Contact Erin Aitchison at eaitchison@seattleacademy.org.

Freshman Function 2016
October 21, 2016
7-9 PM, Gym
All freshman are invited to attend this social which will include laser tag, dodge ball, and art. Dinner will be provided!
Questions? Contact Freddy Carley at fcarley@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Fall Dance
October 22, 2016
8 – 10:30 PM, Gym
Details will be sent home soon.
Questions? Contact Makenzie Brandon at mbrandon@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Accommodations Meeting
October 25, 2016
7 PM, STREAM Building
Questions? Contact Christine Davis-Goff at cdavisgoff@seattleacademy.org.

PARENT ASSOCIATION EVENTS

Fall Parent Peer Group Discussions - all Parent Peer Groups will meet in the Vanderbilt Building. Socials begin at 6:30 PM followed by the discussions at 7 PM.
Question about Parent Peer Groups can be directed to Megan Aukema at megan@aukemaassociates.com.

Fall Parent Social Events - PLEASE NOTE: On-campus parking is assigned from 7:30 AM – 3 PM. Please use street parking.

  • October 6: 11th Grade Parent Coffee, 8:15 – 9 :30 AM, Mighty O Donuts (12th and Madison). Questions? Contact Hallidie Haid at hallidie.haid@gmail.com.
  • October 17: 7th Grade Parent Coffee, 8:15-9:30 AM, 12th Avenue Conference Room (on 12th between the Vanderbilt Building and the Arts Center). Special Guest: Julia Kassissieh, Co-Head of Middle School. Questions? Contact Meg Crager at megcrager@comcast.net.
  • October 20: 12th Grade Parent Coffee, 8:15 – 9 :30 AM, Tully’s Coffee (19th and Aloha). Questions? Contact Karen Woo at karen.woo@comcast.net.
  • November 3: 11th Grade Brown Bag Lunch, Noon – 1:30 PM, 12th Avenue Conference Room (on 12th between the Vanderbilt Building and the Arts Center). Special Guest: 11th Grade Coordinators. Questions? Contact Hallidie Haid at hallidie.haid@gmail.com.
  • November 3: 12th Grade Parent Social, 5:30-8 PM, The Garage (1130 Broadway). Questions? Contact Karen Woo at karen.woo@comcast.net.
  • November 16: 12th Grade Parent Coffee, 8:15-9:30 AM, 12th Avenue Conference Room (on 12th between the Vanderbilt Building and the Arts Center). Special Guest: Stacie Cone, 12th Grade Coordinator. Questions? Contact Karen Woo at karen.woo@comcast.net.
  • December 1: 11th Grade Parent Coffee, 8:15 – 9 :30 AM, Mighty O Donuts (12th and Madison). Questions? Contact Hallidie Haid at hallidie.haid@gmail.com.

RECENT ARTICLES

SAAS Students Create Mural at MLK / FAME Community Center
Annual Fall Sports Events Draw Record Number of Athletes
Mueller Hosts Book Launch in STREAM Building
National Merit Announces Awards; Thirteen SAAS Seniors Recognized