September 8

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director. CAMPUS MAP

Friday Email
September 8, 2017

TWEET

Below are links to important information regarding the upcoming school year. Please review the information and return all appropriate forms. If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director, at 206-676-6858 or shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

REMINDERS!

ACTION ITEMS – FORMS DUE
9th Grade Odyssey Permission Form, Due September 1
10th Grade Retreat Permission Form, Due September 8

SIGN UPS

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Upper School Study Hall
What: Drop in homework support
When: Monday – Thursday, 3:00-4:30 PM
Where: VBC5 (upstairs Vanderbilt across from S2)
Who: Any Upper School student
Questions? Contact Aeva Wilkes at awilkes@seattleacademy.org.

Reporting Absences, Late Arrivals, and Early Dismissals
Middle School: msattendance@seattleacademy.org
Upper School: usattendance@seattleacademy.org

UPCOMING EVENTS

9th Grade Parent Meeting
Odyssey Gear Trip Check
For ALL 9th Grade Parents AND Students

September 11,  2017
Please Note New Start time
6:00 PM: Parent Social and Student Gear Check MORE DETAILS
6:30 PM: Meeting
Arts Center, 1100 12th Avenue
Parking available in our gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.
Questions? Contact Lauri Conner at lconner@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Dance Project Begins
September 12, 2017
3:15 – 5 PM, Tuesdays and Wednesdays
PLEASE NOTE: The group will meet in the Middle School lobby at 3:15 PM and walk to the Dance Studio in the gymnasium. Pick up is in the gym garage at 5 PM.
CLICK HERE for more details.
Questions? Contact Rhonda Cinotto at rcinotto@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Back-to-School Night
September 12,  7 PM
Jaffe Room, Middle School Building
Parking available in the 16th Avenue parking lot.
Please join us for this opportunity to walk through your child’s schedule, meet his/her teachers, and receive a syllabus for all the classes.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Parent-Coaches Meetings
September 12,  End of Middle School Back-to-School Night
Jaffe Room, Middle School Building
Parking available in the 16th Avenue parking lot.
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Back-to-School Night
September 13,  7 PM
Gym (1111 13th Avenue)
Parking available in our gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.
Please join us for this opportunity to walk through your teen’s schedule, meet his/her teachers, and receive a syllabus for all the classes.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Parent-Coaches Meetings
September 13,  End of Middle School Back-to-School Night
Gym (1111 13th Avenue)
Parking available in our gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.

Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

Fall Sports Mania – SAVE THE DATE!
September 15, 3:15 – 10 PM
Starfire Sports Complex
CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS

Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

9th Grade Odyssey Trip
September 18-20, 2017
CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Freddy Carley at fcarley@seattleacademy.org.

10th Grade Retreat
September 19-20, 2017
Families will receive additional information next week.
Questions? Contact Makenzie Brandon at mbrandon@seattleacademy.org.

Rosh Hashanah – NO CLASSES
September 21, 2017
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Volleyball Fest
September 25, 3 – 9 PM
Gym (1100 13th Avenue)
MORE DETAILS TO COME!

Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

Parent Education Committee Presents:
Balancing the Benefits and Risks of Technology Use

September 26, 2017 CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS
6:30 PM – Social; 7 PM – Discussion
Arts Center (1100 12th Avenue)
Parking available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.

Questions? Contact Arden Hellmann at ardenhellmann@comcast.net.

Guide to College Financing
September 28, 7 PM CLICK HERE FOR MORE DETAILS
Arts Center (1100 12th Avenue)
Parking available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.

Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

8th Grade Retreat
September 28: Drop off at regular time and location.
September 29:
3:30 PM to 16thAvenue. If we are delayed by traffic, an email will be sent to families with an adjusted return time.
Fort Worden, Port Townsend

GEAR
: Sleeping bag and pillow, raingear, warm jacket, change of clothes, toiletries, water bottle, good walking shoes and clothing for being active outdoors
FOOD:
Sack lunch and snacks for Thursday, September 28
MEDICATIONS
: Please contact Hilary Bowen by September 25 for more details.
Questions? Contact Hilary Bowen at hbowen@seattleacademy.org.

RECENT ARTICLES

Join us at Seattle Academy’s Fall Mania 2017
Cardinal Union Featured as a Trendsetting Project
SAAS Parent Film Wins Grand Jury Award at SIFF; Schloss ‘21 Plays Title Role

SOCIAL MEDIA CHANNELS

Facebook:
Seattle Academy https://www.facebook.com/seattleacademy
Seattle Academy Cardinals (Athletics) https://www.facebook.com/SAASCardinals

Twitter:
@SeattleAcademy https://twitter.com/SeattleAcademy
@SAASCardinals (Athletics) https://twitter.com/SAASCardinals
@SAASGrad https://twitter.com/SAASGrad

YouTube: Seattle Academy Videos https://www.youtube.com/SeattleAcademyVideos
SmugMug: Saasphotogallery http://saasphotogallery.smugmug.com/

If you have any questions about our social media program, please contact Andrew Spitzer at aspitzer@seattleacademy.org.