September 9

If you have any questions regarding the Friday emails, or would like to include an announcement in one of them, please contact Sheila Hanrahan, Communications Director.

Friday Email
September 9, 2016

september-12860808

REMINDERS

9th Grade Odyssey Trip
FORMS DUESeptember 9
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Freddy Carley at fcarley@seattleacademy.org.

10th Grade Retreat
FORMS DUESeptember 16
PERMISSION FORM
Questions? Contact Dionna Kirton at dkirton@seattleacademy.org or Martin Brakke at mbrakke@seattleacademy.org.

Morning and Afternoon Shuttle Bus Information
You can still sign up for the North End, Eastside, or South/West before and after school shuttle buses.
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Loyal Hanrahan at lhanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

UPCOMING EVENTS

Middle School Dance Project Begins
September 13, 2016
3:30 – 5 PM, Tuesdays and Wednesdays, Dance Studio
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Rhonda Cinotto at rcinotto@seattleacademy.org.

9th Grade Parent Meeting and Odyssey Gear Check
September 19, 2016
6 PM, Arts Center
ODYSSEY DETAILS
Questions? Contact Freddy Carley at fcarley@seattleacademy.org.

Middle School Back-to-School Night
September 20, 2016
7 PM, Middle School Building (Begin in the Jaffe Room)
Parents will follow their child’s schedule, meet teachers, and receive a 10-minute overview of each class. Parents will also meet advisors and, for those whose children are in athletics, have an opportunity to meet coaches.
Parking is available in the 16th Avenue parking lot.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

SAAS in the City Committee Meeting
September 22, 2016
8:30 AM, 12th Avenue Conference Room
Anyone interested in helping us plan our annual all-school celebration, SAAS in the City (which will be held on January 28, 2017, at Fremont Studios), is welcome to attend the first committee meeting.
Questions? Contact Anne-Marie Guerrero at amguerrero@seattleacademy.org.

Upper School Back-to-School Night
September 22, 2016
7 PM, Gym
Parents will follow their child’s schedule, meet teachers, and receive a 10-minute overview of each class. Parents whose children are in athletics, have an opportunity to meet coaches.
Parking is available in the gym garage and the 14th Avenue parking lot.
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

Fall Sports Mania
September 23, 2016
3:00 PM, Starfire Sports Complex (Tukwila)
Join us for this community-wide sporting event which honors all of our fall athletes. More details to come!
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

Volleyball Fest
September 26, 2016
3:00 – 9:00 PM, Seattle Academy Gym
Come catch all of our volleyball teams in action! See the sports calendars for more details.
Questions? Contact Cathy Schick at cschick@seattleacademy.org.

Guide to College Financing
September 27, 2016
6:00 PM, Arts Center
Join Bryan Gould, Associate Director for Student Financial Services at the University of Puget Sound. This comprehensive review of how financial aid and scholarships are awarded is open to and appropriate to all Upper School families. It is offered each fall.
Questions? Contact Melanie Reed at mreed@seattleacademy.org.

Parent Education Commitee Presents: One More Thing…Changing Up Conversations to Stay Connected with Julie Metzger
September 27, 2016
7:15 PM, Arts Center
CLICK HERE to RSVP.
Conversations are the building blocks within a family to share ideas, sharpen our edges, build trust, problem solve, gather information, and share our stories. Family communication can be intense and heated or spoken in whispers; they can last seconds or days and end with a slammed door, a sigh, or a hug. Each one shapes part ofwho we are as a family and as individuals. Julie will give SAAS parents an opportunity to consider strategies to stengthen family communications.
Questions? Contact Arden Hellmann, Parent Education Committee Chair, at ardenhellmann@comcast.net.

9th Grade Odyssey Trip
September 28-30, 2016
MORE DETAILS
Questions? Contact Freddy Carley at fcarley@seattleacademy.org.

10th Grade Retreat
September 28-30, 2016
Location: Miracle Ranch (12500 Camp Ct. NW, Poulsbo, 253-851-4410)
Depart at 8:15 AM on September 28
Return by 3 PM on September 30
Packing List: sack lunch for Wednesday, sleeping bag/pillow, closed toe shoes for a service project, comfortable clothing, toiletries
Questions? Contact Dionna Kirton at dkirton@seattleacademy.org or Martin Brakke at mbrakke@seattleacademy.org.

Rosh Hashanah - NO CLASSES
October 3, 2016
Questions? Contact Sheila Hanrahan at shanrahan@seattleacademy.org.

PARENT ASSOCIATION EVENTS

Parent Association Fall Kick-Off Meeting
September 14, 2016
6:30 PM – Social, 7 PM Meeting, STREAM Building
Parking available in the gym garage.
Questions? Contact Anne-Marie Guerrero at amguerrero@seattleacademy.org.

RECENT ARTICLES

Willows ‘18 to Exhibit at Seattle Mini Maker Faire
Schimmel ‘18 Interns at Smithsonian
Bre Weider ‘09 Continues Her Political Career
Senseney ‘19 Earns Eagle Scout Rank

· 2016-17 School Year Has Begun!
· Park Poems Appear in New Children’s Book
· Truex ’08 Featured on Indie Activity
· Fulle ’13 Featured in Education Post
· Megalli ’20 and Perlin ’20 Help Save Cats